Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Development

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
37%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
39%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
21%
Total votes: 38

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th January 2002, 23:29
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,929
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
Text Number from Text Manager

I am modifying a maintain session to allow text. I have created another table to hold the text number, modified the session to activate the text.manager(this works). The only thing I can not figure out is how to get the text number created to update my new table. Also I am assuming I will need this text number to edit the text previously completed. I have searched through knowledge quest and some old Baan Fans digests and have not found anything to show me how to do this. Can someone post an example or a clue?

By the way, I am not allowed to modify the maintain able on the session - which would work. So I am using qkey to modify the session and to update the new table, just need that pesky old text number.

TIA!

Mark
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th January 2002, 18:43
shah_bs's Avatar
shah_bs shah_bs is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lewisville, Texas
Posts: 387
shah_bs is on a distinguished road
Baan: BAAN IVc3 with A&D2.2b - DB: ORACLE 9 - OS: HPUX
Text Number from Text Manager

Hello Mark.

I am not familiar with QKEY, so my suggestion is based on what I would do based on the design condition you have mentioned. You can adapt it suitably:

Assumptions:

- Primary Keys of the original table and your new table are identical.

Suggestion:

- Generate a new (sub)session with your new table as the main table.

- Modify the original session to call this sub-session by ensuring that the primary key is passed on (instead of calling the text manager as you have done).

- In your new session, ensure that a record is created if it is missing, or fetched if it exists.

- Then fire up the text manager in your new session. (Or you may let the user hit the <T>ext button if it is acceptable - that way you avoid the unnecessary programming to automatically call the text manager).

The text number updating then becomes the responsibility of the new session (it will automatically update on save) and you will not have to take any special actions to update the number in your new table.

Let me know if this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st January 2002, 17:55
evesely's Avatar
evesely evesely is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lisle, Illinois USA
Posts: 411
evesely is on a distinguished road
a possibility

I haven't tried this and I don't know QKEY (but this would be possible using ~Vamsi's rush utility), but here's a thought:

Make a before.choice subsection for the choice.text.manager section. In this subsection, call text.edit yourself using the value of the text field from the new table or some other dummy field (it will have a 0 value if there is no existing text). After the text.edit call, your field should contain the text number. Then, update your table. Call choice.again() or do whatever you need to do to make sure the "real" text manager call doesn't fire.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st January 2002, 21:45
~Vamsi's Avatar
~Vamsi ~Vamsi is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego CA, USA
Posts: 590
~Vamsi will become famous soon enough
Baan: ~*~ - DB: ~*~ - OS: ~*~
Been a long time since I tried any of this stuff. For many sections does using "on.choice" force the standard program's events not to be called?

If that is the case, just use Qkey and program in on.choice using the logic mentioned by Ed.
__________________
~Vamsi
Vamsi Potluru
Baan XL Yet another tool to format Baan output in Excel from Baan Board
This one just happens to be free :)

Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd January 2002, 15:12
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,929
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
Thanks

Thanks. I will give Ed's suggestion a try. If that does not work then I will try what shah_bs suggested.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd January 2002, 21:31
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,929
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
FYI

Just thought I would let everyone know how I solved the problem. It appears that the text field I assigned to the session is filled when returning from text manager. So in the after.choice section I went and updated my table. I also added txta.yn field that contains yes if text exists in my table. In this before.display section I retrieve the text number if it exists.

Thanks for the suggestions.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th September 2008, 17:29
mig28mx's Avatar
mig28mx mig28mx is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mexico
Posts: 427
mig28mx is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc4 - DB: Oracle 9i, Oracle10g - OS: HP Unix 11, Intel RedHat ES
text manager problem

Hello Mark.
I´m facing the same problem on a development.
Can you share your code?

I also added a after.choice on choice.text.manager option and write
db.update(mytexttable) but appears an error 112 when i executed.

Any clue?
Thank you in advance.
__________________
We talk Baan!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30th September 2008, 17:57
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,929
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
See attached sample script. It is a qkey version used to update the text field on a new table that was created.
Attached Files
File Type: cln Sample.cln (7.6 KB, 125 views)
__________________
Mark

GO Cards!
My latest mantra - make sure you have latest stpapi patches and the latest session object. If on LN then please explore the option of using DAL2 functionality.

Shared Solutions for Baan systems provided free by Baan Board.
Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th January 2014, 00:23
abattoir abattoir is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 116
abattoir is on a distinguished road
Baan: baan4c4 - DB: Oracle 9i - OS: Unix
Text Edit

Hi,

I have a update session, where I want the user to edit (if already existing) or create new text before hitting "Update" button.

I have no problem in having the user to create new text, but how do I ensure that the user is actually editing the text before hitting the "update" button. The user could simply open and close the text editor (w/o actually editing any text). Which function or predefined variable tracks this?

I am using text.edit() , but it is not helping in the case when text exists and want to track if it has changed or not.

Thanks,
Abattoir
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th January 2014, 06:45
bhushanchanda's Avatar
bhushanchanda bhushanchanda is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: India
Posts: 2,320
bhushanchanda has a spectacular aura aboutbhushanchanda has a spectacular aura aboutbhushanchanda has a spectacular aura about
Baan: LN FP 1-9, 10.4, a little bit of Baan IV - DB: SQL Server 2008, Oracle - OS: Windows Server 2008 R2, Unix
Hi,

In choice.text.manager: section, you can check in text values in before.choice and after.choice using text.to.buf() function or you can use main.table.io: section with before.rewrite: subsection.
__________________
Regards,

Bhushan

Unless you try to do something beyond what you have already mastered, you will never grow!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17th January 2014, 20:21
abattoir abattoir is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 116
abattoir is on a distinguished road
Baan: baan4c4 - DB: Oracle 9i - OS: Unix
Thanks..

Hi Bhushan,

Thanks for the suggestion, I will use that.

Regards,
Abattoir
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
text.write does not return new text number ahulikavi Tools Development 10 4th September 2017 12:03
CODE: VB Calling a DLL gfasbender Code & Utilities 0 13th March 2002 17:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:59.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com