Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Development

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
35%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
42%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
19%
Total votes: 31

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th November 2002, 16:19
Joy Conner's Avatar
Joy Conner Joy Conner is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 372
Joy Conner is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc4 - DB: MS SQL - OS: Windows Server 2008 & 2008 R2
Unknown Message????

Has anyone received a message stating "Unknown Message"?


Joy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th November 2002, 18:41
baanprog's Avatar
baanprog baanprog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 291
baanprog is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaanIVc4, SP15 - DB: ORACLE 10 - OS: HP-UX 11.11
Can you be more specific Please

Do u mean a message() or a fatal error or a message when running a session and doing some operations or while programming?
__________________
Things dont work by themselves.We make them Work. Remember whatever systems we create it will have all the defects inherent in us
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th November 2002, 18:47
Joy Conner's Avatar
Joy Conner Joy Conner is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 372
Joy Conner is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc4 - DB: MS SQL - OS: Windows Server 2008 & 2008 R2
This not a fatal error. This is a message box that states "Unknown Message".
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th November 2002, 19:00
baanprog's Avatar
baanprog baanprog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 291
baanprog is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaanIVc4, SP15 - DB: ORACLE 10 - OS: HP-UX 11.11
Well

When does this message come?
__________________
Things dont work by themselves.We make them Work. Remember whatever systems we create it will have all the defects inherent in us
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th November 2002, 19:15
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,905
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
Message

Could it be that one of the messages in whichever session has been deleted? Do you see a message number in the message box?

Mark
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #6  
Old 14th November 2002, 19:25
Joy Conner's Avatar
Joy Conner Joy Conner is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 372
Joy Conner is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc4 - DB: MS SQL - OS: Windows Server 2008 & 2008 R2
I use Qkey for customizations and have some customizations attached to tdinv1101m000.

I have a library of custom functions. One of the functions executes a VB script that reads serial port to retrieve data. The function returns a value stored in variable named order.weight.

In the session tdinv1101m000 I call the function as follows:

order.weight = read.serial.port() and I get this message. I step through the code and see that the call to read.serial.port is executing and returning the correct value. I have been trying to isolate the problem, so I comment out the above line and replace it with order.weight = 9.62 and I do NOT get the message.

I think my problem is structural so I generate a custom session with same variable placed on the form. Each time I press the continue key, it executes the same function displays the value on the form. It works in custom session without message box stating "Unknown Message".

Joy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th November 2002, 19:55
Joy Conner's Avatar
Joy Conner Joy Conner is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 372
Joy Conner is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc4 - DB: MS SQL - OS: Windows Server 2008 & 2008 R2
The message is attached.

Joy
Attached Files
File Type: doc message.doc (23.0 KB, 88 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15th November 2002, 20:15
Joy Conner's Avatar
Joy Conner Joy Conner is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 372
Joy Conner is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc4 - DB: MS SQL - OS: Windows Server 2008 & 2008 R2
Unknown Message-more info

I have generated a report session.

Now there are not Qkey customizations. Just a BaaN script. Three fields on the form. The code reads as follows:

field.quantity:
when.field.changes:
weight = read.serial.port()
display("weight")

When I put a value into the quantity field on the form, this produces error in attached message.

Also, on the form is the continue button. In the code, same program, the program reads
Choice.cont.process:
on.choice:
weight = read.serial.port()
display("weight")

When I press the continue button on the form, the weight is displayed and no message is display. The program behaves as I had intended.

I'm still stumped.

Joy Conner
Attached Files
File Type: doc message.doc (23.0 KB, 39 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15th November 2002, 20:43
baanprog's Avatar
baanprog baanprog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 291
baanprog is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaanIVc4, SP15 - DB: ORACLE 10 - OS: HP-UX 11.11
Well

I think the problem lies in read.serial.port() function, it is stepping on the standard program flow and causing this problem, most probably.

I have come across an instance where the message will not be displayed when it is in choice.cont.process, but I dont remember how and when.

what is the code inside the read.serial.port() function, can u please post it also.
__________________
Things dont work by themselves.We make them Work. Remember whatever systems we create it will have all the defects inherent in us
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15th November 2002, 21:01
Joy Conner's Avatar
Joy Conner Joy Conner is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 372
Joy Conner is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc4 - DB: MS SQL - OS: Windows Server 2008 & 2008 R2
I thought so too. But that does not explain why it works when it is executed via the continue button.
Attached Files
File Type: txt fileout.txt (4.8 KB, 91 views)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 15th November 2002, 23:14
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,905
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
In debug mode

Glad to see someone besides me using Q-key. Does this happen the minute you get to the When.field.changes section or the minute you step into the weight = read.serial.port() statement?
Are you calling a DLL? I was just wondering what that function main() was for - I have never put that in my DLL's.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 15th November 2002, 23:23
Joy Conner's Avatar
Joy Conner Joy Conner is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 372
Joy Conner is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc4 - DB: MS SQL - OS: Windows Server 2008 & 2008 R2
Hi Mark.

Thanks for your attention. The function is buried in a dll and the dll is identified in the list of attached libraries.

Joy
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15th November 2002, 23:32
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,905
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
Missed some questions..

Hi Joy!

(1)Does it unknow message happen the minute you get into the when.field.changes section?

(2) Or does it happen the minute you execute the weight = read.serial.port() DLL Function?

And 3 was a curiosity question-

(3) What purpose does the function main() server?
I have never used it?

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 15th November 2002, 23:36
Joy Conner's Avatar
Joy Conner Joy Conner is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 372
Joy Conner is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc4 - DB: MS SQL - OS: Windows Server 2008 & 2008 R2
I forgot to answer your other question....

field.weight:
when.field.changes:
weight = read.serial.port()
display.all() <<<<<<<< this line produces the message.

I thought "function main()" was required in dll's. My consultants did that and I followed their practice, never questioning it.

Joy
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 15th November 2002, 23:47
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,905
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
Maybe this...

I think what is happening is that it is looping. Try putting the display("weight") in another place. Maybe in the next fields before.input section.

Mark
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unknown Message muheeb Tools Development 7 16th September 2016 21:51
Table Doesn't exist sanjaykathuria Tools Administration & Installation 9 20th November 2003 06:14
Running a Baan script from UNIX command line; ba6.1 runtime options chadwickh Tools Development 18 25th September 2002 22:48
Message unknown formfield after adding field to form Neal Matthews Tools Development 4 2nd November 2001 17:37


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:03.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com