Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Administration & Installation

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
35%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
42%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
19%
Total votes: 31

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th July 2017, 07:38
nathanjiang nathanjiang is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
nathanjiang is on a distinguished road
Baan: fp5 - DB: AIX 6.1 - OS: Win7
Wink Upgrade from fp5 to 10.4

Hello everyone!

Is it possible to upgrade from fp5 to 10.4 by installing all the needed solutions ? We use aix 6.1 system and oracle 11g. Any reply will be welcomed. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th July 2017, 08:32
sasikanth's Avatar
sasikanth sasikanth is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Posts: 123
sasikanth is on a distinguished road
Baan: L.N 6.1 FP7, 10.3, 10.4 & 10.5 - DB: SQL Server - OS: Windows
Ofcourse it is possible (few conditions must be met)

I've recently helped one of my Customer to upgrade from FP7 to 10.5.

If you would like to know more on this topic, PM me or let's get connected on LinkedIn.

Have a great day!
__________________
Sasi Kanth V
Infor ERP LN Solution Architect

Reach Me Out on LinkedIn | Never Miss an Update from LN Campus YouTube Channel
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th July 2017, 02:24
pramod pramod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 38
pramod is on a distinguished road
Baan: B4c4, LN - DB: INF - OS: AIX
I upgraded FP3 to 10.5, so FP5 to 10.4 can be done. Almost same kind of setup with AIX 6.1, Oracle 12c.

Last edited by pramod : 29th July 2017 at 02:30.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th August 2017, 23:29
iscons iscons is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 24
iscons is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IVc4 - DB: Oracle - OS: Unix
Quote:
Originally Posted by pramod View Post
I upgraded FP3 to 10.5, so FP5 to 10.4 can be done. Almost same kind of setup with AIX 6.1, Oracle 12c.
How did you convert the data?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #5  
Old 7th August 2017, 10:59
jclju1's Avatar
jclju1 jclju1 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 554
jclju1 is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IV, Baan 5.0c, SSA ERP LN 6.1 - DB: bisam, Oracle, Informix, Sql Server - OS: Unix (all), Windows
You have to create new VRC structure for 10.4 and instal 10.4 SW. After that move companies from FP5 to 10.4 package combination. Authomaticaly Data Upgrade run will be created. Data Upgrade Engine will convert your data.

First run this scenarion on test server!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th August 2017, 04:35
nathanjiang nathanjiang is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
nathanjiang is on a distinguished road
Baan: fp5 - DB: AIX 6.1 - OS: Win7
Hi jclju1,

It seems that we have to install 10.4 and import all the data to it by your method. Not upgrade. I mean if we can just install all the needed solutions to upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th August 2017, 19:05
NPRao's Avatar
NPRao NPRao is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Posts: 3,028
NPRao will become famous soon enough
Baan: iBaanERP-5.2a(Reger),SSA-ERP-LN-6.1,Infor LN-10.x - DB: Oracle-10g,11g,12c,MS-SQL - OS: HP-UX, Linux, Windows
Quote:
Authomaticaly Data Upgrade run will be created. Data Upgrade Engine will convert your data.
I'm not sure the BC package is part of the standard 10.4 Installation. The Data Conversion Tools and services are part of the Infor Consulting services.
So using the below process you are basically syncing up the table structure of fp5 to 10.4 but the conversion tools take care of the logical table mapping at the field level.

P.S. - I am not a functional/data-migration-expert.
__________________
The art of perfection does not lie in doing extraordinary things but, doing ordinary things extraordinarily well. [-N. Prashanth Rao]
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way,BaaNBoard,NPRao
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th August 2017, 11:25
jclju1's Avatar
jclju1 jclju1 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 554
jclju1 is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IV, Baan 5.0c, SSA ERP LN 6.1 - DB: bisam, Oracle, Informix, Sql Server - OS: Unix (all), Windows
Package bc I used for migration from Baan IV to ERPLN. This package is not used for data upgrade. Data upgrade engine contains a lot of dlls, for every table which need upgrade there exists dll. For example, tcsptdll1901 upgrades data in table tcmcs036. All dlls are part of standard feature pack SW.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LN Upgrade from 10.2.1 to 10.4 --- issue with work Work Top kajalnp Tools Development 4 6th August 2015 09:40
Upgrade LN6.1 SP1 to LN FP5 Predator Tools Development 16 4th August 2011 10:27
Planning to upgrade Oracle 8.0.4 to 10g trchandra Operating Systems & Databases 0 25th September 2010 17:50
How to Upgrade FP3 to FP5 qiangyao Tools Administration & Installation 5 26th February 2009 04:21
Upgrade Tools from FP4 to FP5 jclju1 Tools Administration & Installation 3 24th February 2009 13:15


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:49.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com