Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Development

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
35%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
42%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
19%
Total votes: 31

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th September 2002, 13:36
David A. Green David A. Green is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 19
David A. Green is on a distinguished road
Baan: B40_c4 - DB: Informix - OS: HP-UNIX
Customized report not updating procedure mask.

A while back we logged a case with BaaN support regarding an apparent loss of functionality when the Print Return Note report was copied.

Report tdpur441101000 was cloned, some minor cosmetic changes were applied to it, then this cloned report was added as the 3nd report option to session tdpur4411m000. But we found that the customized report wasn't incrementing the order step.

After several weeks, BaaN eventually came back to say that the Print Return Note report will only update the procedure mask if it is report number 1 on the session.

Has anyone encountered other examples of this kind of customization constraint (effectively, you can't have multiple Print Return Note reports)? Are these constraints documented anywhere.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th September 2002, 14:36
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,905
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
Not documented

I have not seen where things like this are documented. I have also had the support center tell me one thing, when another is true. So if you have the source code for this I would trace thru the code and find out if this is true. Or hope that someone here with source(or appropriate knowledge) replies to your message. Sorry to say that we do not own the source.

Not that I am knocking the support center, but there have been instances where the user community reports one thing and the support center told me something else.

Good Luck!

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th September 2002, 14:43
bizen99's Avatar
bizen99 bizen99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 90
bizen99 is on a distinguished road
for this session is true, then, you can modify the source to accept report 3:

reportno = 1 -> old
reportno = 1 or report = 3 -> new

with this modifications the program will modify the mask
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th September 2002, 16:00
rupertb's Avatar
rupertb rupertb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 192
rupertb is on a distinguished road
Baan: T2.2, BIVb2, BIVc4, Vc - DB: Oracle, INFORMIX, DB2, SQL - OS: AIX, WIN
Sorry David a quick source inspection has revealed that the session does indeed check the 'reportno' variable it must be '1' in order for the procedure mask to be updated to an 'e'. The reason behind doing this is because report number 2 is a simple list it should not update the procedure mask when printed.
Your first option is to link your customized report as report #1, the other option is of course to approach your local support center.

What version of baan are you on, maybe I can help you?


Rupert
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th September 2002, 16:49
OmeLuuk's Avatar
OmeLuuk OmeLuuk is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,072
OmeLuuk is on a distinguished road
Baan: Infor LN 6.1 10.2.1 - DB: MS SQL2008 - OS: VM WindowsServer2008R2
Actually these little things make me love Baan...

You cannot fool the system, unless you really understand what you are doing. And this understanding must be both functional as technical. Only then you are able to do it correct.

I really like this.
__________________
Also read Luke 24:4-8
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th September 2002, 06:34
morpheus's Avatar
morpheus morpheus is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Planet of the apes
Posts: 369
morpheus is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaaN IV c4 - DB: BaaN Base - OS: HP-UX 11
Code

If you have the source code and want to use the new customized report, then you should change the code as mentioned by bizen.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th September 2002, 16:20
David A. Green David A. Green is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 19
David A. Green is on a distinguished road
Baan: B40_c4 - DB: Informix - OS: HP-UNIX
Thanks for the helpful replies.

Unfortunately, we do not have a developers licence, so it isn't an option to modify the session script as bizen & Morpheus suggest. However, I think I can do what I need to do in the report script by formatting conditional print statements based on the company number: this way, different logistics companies can use the same report and obtain different outputs.

My main concern (and the real reason why I rasied the thread) was to highlight what I feel is a rather surreptitious (almost unfriendly) feature of BaaN tools. Without a developers licence, how would a user know about this conditional updating of the procedure mask? Worse still, when we logged the call with BaaN Support they initially insisted they couldn't reproduce the problem at their end (despite it being, as we know now, standard BaaN functionality!) and the case dragged on for weeks. Perhaps I should have come to the BaanBoard in the first place and got the answer from you guys within an hour!

Thanks again for you assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th September 2002, 09:14
bizen99's Avatar
bizen99 bizen99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 90
bizen99 is on a distinguished road
Hi,

You can try tu put the new report at the same group that the first

I think, because I had not tryed

Good Luck
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th September 2002, 11:50
OmeLuuk's Avatar
OmeLuuk OmeLuuk is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,072
OmeLuuk is on a distinguished road
Baan: Infor LN 6.1 10.2.1 - DB: MS SQL2008 - OS: VM WindowsServer2008R2
There is this option to gain sources even when you do not have the developers lisence; see the SP booklet.

In that way you can have the sources after they have been updated.
__________________
Also read Luke 24:4-8
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11th September 2002, 07:15
morpheus's Avatar
morpheus morpheus is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Planet of the apes
Posts: 369
morpheus is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaaN IV c4 - DB: BaaN Base - OS: HP-UX 11
Question

Luuk,
What is this SP booklet? Do you mean Service Pack installation guide!? From where to get it?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11th September 2002, 12:22
OmeLuuk's Avatar
OmeLuuk OmeLuuk is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,072
OmeLuuk is on a distinguished road
Baan: Infor LN 6.1 10.2.1 - DB: MS SQL2008 - OS: VM WindowsServer2008R2
See solution 127360: Documentation belonging to Service Pack 11 for BaanIVc4 (installation guide, release notes etc.) ... and the others are also contained in solutions...
__________________
Also read Luke 24:4-8
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good procedure for BOB report modification surinder Tools Administration & Installation 1 12th September 2003 18:35
Updating the procedure mask in sales order lines Francesco Tools Development 0 27th June 2002 23:43


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:07.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com