Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Development

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
37%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
39%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
21%
Total votes: 38

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th April 2013, 11:03
priyanka pawar's Avatar
priyanka pawar priyanka pawar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 19
priyanka pawar is on a distinguished road
Baan: FP7 - DB: SQl Server R2 - OS: window
hide session code
Baan: ERP LN 6.1 FP7
C/S: Both

Hello,

While running session ,i am calling another sub session.
Now I wanted to hide sub session code from task bar.

Is there any setting or coding to this.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Priyanka
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th April 2013, 15:40
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,935
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
Not sure about LN, but in 4c4 I use the wait and activate for another session. This session does not appear on the windows taskbar below - only the calling session.
__________________
Mark

GO Cards!
My latest mantra - make sure you have latest stpapi patches and the latest session object. If on LN then please explore the option of using DAL2 functionality.

Shared Solutions for Baan systems provided free by Baan Board.
Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th April 2013, 07:03
priyanka pawar's Avatar
priyanka pawar priyanka pawar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 19
priyanka pawar is on a distinguished road
Baan: FP7 - DB: SQl Server R2 - OS: window
Hide session code

Hi Mark,

Thanks for reply.

Actually my question is to hide session code.
Kindly find the screenshot, for more information.

Gurus waiting for your response.

Regards,
Priyanka
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screenshot.jpg (177.0 KB, 46 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th April 2013, 07:41
rahul.kolhe22's Avatar
rahul.kolhe22 rahul.kolhe22 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: India
Posts: 168
rahul.kolhe22 is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IVc4, Infor ERP LN - DB: SQL 2005 - OS: Windows XP, UNIX
Hi Priyanka,

Can you please explain the reason for which there is the need to hide the session code.

May be by knowing the reason someone on the board can suggest some workaround.

Kind Regards,
Rahul
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #5  
Old 30th April 2013, 08:28
priyanka pawar's Avatar
priyanka pawar priyanka pawar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 19
priyanka pawar is on a distinguished road
Baan: FP7 - DB: SQl Server R2 - OS: window
Hi Rahul,

Actually, we need to give the users Run Program access for some reason.

We have a session, for which the user needs to enter a password and it redirects to other session after entering the password.

Now, if the user knows the session code of the main session he can directly log in to the session using run program.

I know, there can be way around's for this and we have implemented it too, but you never know, any cookie can crumble in BAAN
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th April 2013, 14:20
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,935
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
We wrote our own version of the run program. We use DEM flows so the requirement was the main session must be on the DEM flow. If not they cannot run it. Just using DEM's baan grants a lot of access to sessions, at least in 4c4, so using the baan run program needed to be elminated. So we wrote our own version. So if I wanted to I could elminate any program I wanted to from the run program. The program actually uses a table and you can see what sessions users run and it provides a history for them. There is a thread on this forum that helped me develope it. Below is the code that launches the provided session name.
Code:
function run.session()
{
	long	child.pid, old.mwindow, new.mwindow
	
	if not isspace(sess.name) then
		old.mwindow = current.mwindow()
		new.mwindow = create.mwindow("Run Prog",DSPIXELBASED,DSNORMALSTATE)
		change.mwindow( new.mwindow )
		child.pid = act.and.sleep( sess.name )
		if child.pid then
			set.pgrp( child.pid, child.pid )
			grab.mwindow( new.mwindow, child.pid )
			reactivate( child.pid )
		endif
		change.mwindow ( old.mwindow )
		destroy.mwindow( new.mwindow )
	endif
}
Of course there are other routines to validate the session name before running it, but this is the main piece of code.
__________________
Mark

GO Cards!
My latest mantra - make sure you have latest stpapi patches and the latest session object. If on LN then please explore the option of using DAL2 functionality.

Shared Solutions for Baan systems provided free by Baan Board.
Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th April 2013, 15:00
rahul.kolhe22's Avatar
rahul.kolhe22 rahul.kolhe22 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: India
Posts: 168
rahul.kolhe22 is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IVc4, Infor ERP LN - DB: SQL 2005 - OS: Windows XP, UNIX
Hi Priyanka,

You can try creating rectangular object and placing it exactly at the place where session code is displayed. But again you will have to handle conditions when the session is re-sized or maximized.

I believe that just hiding the session in the status bar will not be sufficient.
Reason: We can have a set command to display the session code in the Window Title. So as far as UI is concerned the status bar and the Window title both should be taken care of.

Apart from this there are many possibility for the user to know the session id from trace file or any log.

As per my understanding you are invoking this session once the user enters correct password. Hence the password validation session will always be the parent process, which can be added as validation else quit from the session.

Hope this helps..

Kind Regards,
Rahul
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th May 2013, 09:10
priyanka pawar's Avatar
priyanka pawar priyanka pawar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 19
priyanka pawar is on a distinguished road
Baan: FP7 - DB: SQl Server R2 - OS: window
Hi Mark,

Thanks for your reply..
But my requirement was something different and i had found solution on it.

Once again for ur quick response.

Regards,
Priyanka
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13th May 2013, 07:57
rahul.kolhe22's Avatar
rahul.kolhe22 rahul.kolhe22 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: India
Posts: 168
rahul.kolhe22 is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IVc4, Infor ERP LN - DB: SQL 2005 - OS: Windows XP, UNIX
Hi Priyanka,

Can you please post the solution you found. It can help the other members on the board to use similar solution in case they have similar requirement.

Thanks and Kind Regards,
Rahul
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trace code at OS while BaaN session is running bansaanu Tools Administration & Installation 3 7th March 2013 19:21
starting help viewer from session code dogu_00 Tools Development 14 3rd March 2010 10:00
Form without session code norwim Tools Development 6 13th February 2006 16:50
Payment of blocked supplier pmahto Finance, Invoicing and Integration 1 11th September 2003 21:36


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:52.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com