Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Development

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Google search


Poll
How big is your Baan-DB (just Data AND Indexes)
0 - 200 GB
17%
200 - 500 GB
25%
500 - 800 GB
3%
800 - 1200 GB
11%
1200 - 1500 GB
11%
1500 - 2000 GB
14%
> 2000 GB
19%
Total votes: 36

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th April 2013, 18:31
zardoz's Avatar
zardoz zardoz is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Torino, Italy
Posts: 445
zardoz is on a distinguished road
Baan: Triton 2, Triton 3, Baan IV, Baan ERP, Baan LN - DB: Oracle, Tbase, MS Sql - OS: Unix, Windows
Inactivate a DAL (?)
Baan: ERP LN 6.1 FP7
C/S: Server

There is a (probably undocumented, because I've never seen it in the tools manual) way to inactivate the DAL associated to a table? I've see in the General Table Maintenence you can choose if activate or not the DAL, but in the tools manual there is no track of a function (that I'm almost sure it will be) that deactivate the DAL.
Yes, I know that the DAL is there for good reason, but there are situations on which you have to massively update a field unregardless of controls, exactly as you can do it thru GTM.
This is obviously bypassable using a temp table and use it to db.update (not dal.change.object) the table you want to bypass the dal, but why to have another table and writing annoying things if is possible to get another - and quicker - solution?
__________________
My company
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th April 2013, 17:37
zardoz's Avatar
zardoz zardoz is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Torino, Italy
Posts: 445
zardoz is on a distinguished road
Baan: Triton 2, Triton 3, Baan IV, Baan ERP, Baan LN - DB: Oracle, Tbase, MS Sql - OS: Unix, Windows
Ok, I've found by myself the solution. Simple and useful (even if somewhat risky):

before.program:
disable.dal()
__________________
My company
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #3  
Old 21st October 2014, 08:16
Amit_Jain's Avatar
Amit_Jain Amit_Jain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hyderabad - India
Posts: 72
Amit_Jain is on a distinguished road
Baan: baan IV,V LN - DB: SQL,Oracle9i - OS: windows 2003 server
How did you find it

Hi Zardoz

Just curious, how did you find this function? also can we use this at some place other than 'before.program'
__________________
_______________________
Amit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st October 2014, 11:13
sachinbaan's Avatar
sachinbaan sachinbaan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 172
sachinbaan is on a distinguished road
Baan: ERP LN - DB: MS SQL - OS: Microsoft Server
Hi,

It wont work other that before.program, because once before.program gets executed, DAL is invoked.
__________________
Regards,
Sachin

TO DREAM THE PERSON U WOULD LIKE 2 B, IS 2 WASTE THE PERSON U R.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DAL big problem - doesn't insert in tirou102 simona Tools Development 4 19th January 2012 14:50
tdsls4122m000 and tdsls401 DAL Sandy Blondino Tools Development 0 16th September 2011 21:53
When DAL 1 or DAL 2 in Infor LN 6.1 gget79 Tools Development 5 27th May 2009 11:23
Dal & Gtm bigjack Tools Development 0 27th December 2006 12:05
DAL activation srinivas Tools Development 5 2nd January 2003 08:07


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:49.


©2001-2018 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com