Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Development

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
35%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
42%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
19%
Total votes: 31

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th May 2010, 10:50
Predator Predator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 75
Predator is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan5 - DB: MSSQL2000 - OS: Windows Advance Server 2000
Upgrade LN6.1 SP1 to LN FP5
Baan: ERP LN 6.1
C/S: Both

Hi,

Can someone please advise the method to upgrade LN6.1 SP1 (MSSQL) to LN6.1 FP5 (MSSQL).

Thank you.

Mic
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th May 2010, 09:55
Peter Campbell Peter Campbell is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Berlin
Posts: 27
Peter Campbell is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IV, V, LN, OpenWorld - DB: Informix, Oracle - OS: Unix, Windows 2003
Upgrade LN6.1 Sp1 to LN FP5

hello,

update porting set.
update tools, PMC update.
update application, PMC update.

Without problems 2 days, with problems 2 weeks.

Migrate customizations.

Time depends on how many customizations there are.

Data upgrade engine.

There is usualy a lot of problems with this.

Test

Regards

Peter
__________________
Peter J Campbell
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #3  
Old 10th May 2010, 02:55
Predator Predator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 75
Predator is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan5 - DB: MSSQL2000 - OS: Windows Advance Server 2000
Inquiry

Hi Peter,

What is data upgrade engine, is it a software?

Regards,

Mic
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th May 2010, 07:22
ulrich.fuchs's Avatar
ulrich.fuchs ulrich.fuchs is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 514
ulrich.fuchs is on a distinguished road
Baan: IV, LN6.1 - DB: --- - OS: ---
UPgrade engine is a session in tools (don't know the session number...) and a bunch of DLLs that get delivered with every feature pack (so no extra software); It's used to fill data in new tables that come with the feature pack, convert data from obsolete fields into new fields/tables and so on.
__________________

Dipl. Ing. Ulrich Fuchs
- ERP consulting and software development -
Widumestra├če 18 - 44787 Bochum - Germany
mail@ulrich-fuchs.de - www.ulrich-fuchs.de
http://all-in-for-erp.com (Blog zu Infor LN))
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th May 2010, 18:22
Predator Predator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 75
Predator is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan5 - DB: MSSQL2000 - OS: Windows Advance Server 2000
Inquiry

Hi,

Can i use the migration tools in Infor LN6.1 to upgrade LN-FP6.1 to LN-FP5 as per attached?

TQ

Regards,
Mic
Attached Files
File Type: xls upgrade.xls (57.0 KB, 51 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th May 2010, 07:43
Juergen's Avatar
Juergen Juergen is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 566
Juergen is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc4, ERP LN - DB: Oracle - OS: Linux, Unix
Hi,

didi you check document U9497B US "Infor ERP LN 6.1 - Specific Installation Guide - Updates".
Here the upgrade to FP5 for Enterprise Server and Application is described in detail.

Regards,
Juergen
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th May 2010, 08:04
Elrodyn Elrodyn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 170
Elrodyn is on a distinguished road
Baan: LN 6.1 - DB: Sql Server - OS: Windows server 2003
Hello all,


have a question, what if there's more database field on the lnfp5 than in the sp1? is the migration tools will 'fill the blanks' or it will blank, and we need to fill it again?

Thanks,

Roy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th May 2010, 13:22
Peter Campbell Peter Campbell is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Berlin
Posts: 27
Peter Campbell is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IV, V, LN, OpenWorld - DB: Informix, Oracle - OS: Unix, Windows 2003
data upgrade engine

That is what the data upgrade engine is suposed to do.
__________________
Peter J Campbell
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th May 2010, 08:18
Elrodyn Elrodyn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 170
Elrodyn is on a distinguished road
Baan: LN 6.1 - DB: Sql Server - OS: Windows server 2003
Hello Peter,


you mean it fill the blanks for the system?what if there's new functionality?how is the tools going to fill it?

Roy
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th May 2010, 10:27
Peter Campbell Peter Campbell is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Berlin
Posts: 27
Peter Campbell is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IV, V, LN, OpenWorld - DB: Informix, Oracle - OS: Unix, Windows 2003
Data upgrade engine

Hello Roy,

When there are new fields added by a solution or SP programs are sometimes supplied with the solution or SP to fill the extra fields from existing data.

If you look at companies the is a field which is marked when a data upgrade is needed.

Regards

Peter
__________________
Peter J Campbell
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 31st May 2010, 15:40
Predator Predator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 75
Predator is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan5 - DB: MSSQL2000 - OS: Windows Advance Server 2000
Inquiry

Hi Peter,

The upgrade program will add the fields even the fields is not a standard fields but it is customise fields?

Mic
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 1st June 2010, 08:44
JaapJD's Avatar
JaapJD JaapJD is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 728
JaapJD will become famous soon enoughJaapJD will become famous soon enough
Baan: BaanIV, BaanERP, ERP LN 6.1 - DB: Oracle, SQL Server - OS: Unix, Windows
In a Feature Pack upgrade there are two steps regarding tables. First is the reconfiguration. At that moment new fields etc. are added to the table. The second step is the Data Upgrade Engine, which updates the tables from a content perspective. So, if new fields need to be calculated from existing other fields, the Data Upgrade Engine does that part.
If you customize the table, reconfiguration will take care of changing the physical table to your needs. The Upgrade Programs that run within the Data Upgrade Engine don't handle custom fields, except when you have the source code of the Upgrade Programs. In that case, you can customize the Upgrade program to take care of you customized fields. But keep in mind that in this case you have to sync the installation of your customizations with the feature pack upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2nd June 2010, 12:10
Elrodyn Elrodyn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 170
Elrodyn is on a distinguished road
Baan: LN 6.1 - DB: Sql Server - OS: Windows server 2003
Hello all,


thanks a lot for the valuable information, i'll try the upgrade too in the future. i want to see the FP upgrade logic on how they put the data.


thx,

Roy
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 27th July 2011, 04:09
rajram_rvr rajram_rvr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 36
rajram_rvr is on a distinguished road
Baan: ERP LN - DB: ORacle - OS: Windows
ERP LN Migration Issues to FP5

Hello Guys

I am trying to migrate LN Fp3 to FP5. I am doing it since last 3 weeks, still unsuccessful. Following are the steps i did.

1) Installed Porting Set 8.5a - Successfull
2) Installed Enterprise Server PMC Solutions - Successfull
3) INstalled ES Add on PMC - Successfull
Till now all tools solutions done and succuessfull. ES updated to 7.6 a5 also Porting set to 8.5a

Now i install ERP LN Application PMC Solutions.It took a looot of time do download missing solutions. It downloaded around 2500 over solutions and after that it was doing COnvert to Run time for the change in table definitions. Even this took a long time as our data is pretty huge. After a while , for those tables which have changes, R.table name files created in $BSE/tmp folder, but didnt get deleted, becasue it couldnt reconfigure the table with the existing data. Error message -- Error in alter table statment.

I think the error is valid , as still data upgrade Engine is not yet run. After the Error message, i didnt continue in the INstallation process. I logged in ERP and downloaded few solutions for Data upgrade engine as per INfor instructions.

When i start data upgrade engine, i get an Error - immediately.. Fatal Error .. Cannot conitnue in bcxxxdll1900. because of domain tcemm.euca.

I tried to do CRDD for domians, restarted , nothign worked till now. Can Anyone help me out in this.

I wanted to know
1) Whether the process am doing is right or wrong ? IF wrong whats the correct process.
2) If its right,, any solution to move ahead of this stage.
3) What would be the next process ahead of Data upgreade engine.

Thanks a lot for your help

Regards

Rama
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 27th July 2011, 12:10
rajram_rvr rajram_rvr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 36
rajram_rvr is on a distinguished road
Baan: ERP LN - DB: ORacle - OS: Windows
Migration

Hi Guys

Just to add on,, the Enum domain Error is now resolved after installing few solutions. Now i have the Corrupted data dictionary errors for few tables tdpur401 , tccom710 etc. How to resolve this one ?

I tried to do CRDD, reconfig, again and again, deleted ttadv501 to 504, tried to change descipriotn /expired field etc.. But so far nothing worked..

Can you please help me out in this?

Regards

Rama
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loading Help Files in LN6.1 FP5 (vmware) jojovalenton Tools Administration & Installation 2 18th November 2009 07:22
How to Upgrade FP3 to FP5 qiangyao Tools Administration & Installation 5 26th February 2009 04:21
Upgrade Tools from FP4 to FP5 jclju1 Tools Administration & Installation 3 24th February 2009 13:15
LN SP1 to LN FP3 upgrade jatin_sanghi Tools Administration & Installation 1 29th January 2007 08:55
Top ten reasons to(not to) upgrade BaanIV to ERP Ln 6.1 tritonbaan General Discussion & Chat 3 17th November 2006 00:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:18.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com