Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Development

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
35%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
42%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
19%
Total votes: 31

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th May 2009, 18:35
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,905
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
App Start and a URL
Baan: Baan IVc4
C/S: Client

I am able to successfully launch a url from inside baan. I guess it runs an applet or something to launch a file(pdf drawings). It works, but then internet explorer then gives this message. I removed the URL from the screenshot, but everything works. The question I have is there a way to either kill the internet explorer after the drawing is launched or prevent this message from appearing? Any idea's are appreciated. I tried taskkill, but it would kill all of my internet explorer processes.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Image1.jpg (92.6 KB, 96 views)
__________________
Mark

GO Cards!
My latest mantra - make sure you have latest stpapi patches and the latest session object. If on LN then please explore the option of using DAL2 functionality.

Shared Solutions for Baan systems provided free by Baan Board.
Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th May 2009, 20:16
sushil's Avatar
sushil sushil is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 451
sushil is on a distinguished road
Baan: BAAN IV C4 - DB: Oracle - OS: Windows
Hi,

Alternatives.

Try making Different browser as default browser - and then when it launches kill it using taskkill or process kill option from sysinternals.

or

Reroute the url (you have defined ) to another page.
i.e.

Eg . type tracert www.google.com in cmd
then note the Ip of it

1.goto %windir%\system32\drivers\etc
2.open hosts file.
3.type the ip you have noted give some space(press tab) and then paste the url you have defined.

i hope this helps.

Last edited by sushil : 28th May 2009 at 20:22.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th May 2009, 21:08
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,905
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
Both are good suggestions - the problem with the first is that this option will be used by purchasing agents at multiple sites and I can not create an alternate executable. I think that would work, but I know desktop control would not let me do it because of security controls.

Well - the url is so long it will not run in the command level. We actually tried a few things with that. Like using cmd with close after executing.

These suggestions did make me wonder if the person or wrote this servelet or applet could make some changes to get clear the error or close ie.

Thanks for the help and maybe someone else will have a different suggestion.
__________________
Mark

GO Cards!
My latest mantra - make sure you have latest stpapi patches and the latest session object. If on LN then please explore the option of using DAL2 functionality.

Shared Solutions for Baan systems provided free by Baan Board.
Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th May 2009, 11:05
george7a's Avatar
george7a george7a is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Nazareth
Posts: 1,490
george7a is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc, 5.0 b, 5.0 c, LN 6.1 - DB: MS SQL, Oracle - OS: Windows 2000, 2003 & UNIX
Hi Mark,

As I understood you need to kill the IE after some time, right? Is there a specific number of seconds?

If yes, I can gladly write you some VB code that will open the link for lets say30 seconds and then kill the IE (the same instance that I opened).

Let me know if this will help,

- George
__________________
_
George Abdo
NAZDAQ - Your Documents, Your Way.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th May 2009, 15:58
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,905
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
Thanks George and I appreciate it. The problem will be getting the code to all the users. As it stands we have not demo'ed the new program to them and will have to see what they think. I am also trying to see what the person who wrote this applet or servelet(whatever the heck it is) can do from their end. I was hoping there was a windows command or something in baan that I could control.

Appreciate the answers.
__________________
Mark

GO Cards!
My latest mantra - make sure you have latest stpapi patches and the latest session object. If on LN then please explore the option of using DAL2 functionality.

Shared Solutions for Baan systems provided free by Baan Board.
Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th May 2009, 19:16
george7a's Avatar
george7a george7a is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Nazareth
Posts: 1,490
george7a is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc, 5.0 b, 5.0 c, LN 6.1 - DB: MS SQL, Oracle - OS: Windows 2000, 2003 & UNIX
You can copy this exe to a shared directory or copy it to every client using server2client(). Let me know if it helps. I can give you the compiled code, or the code it self so you can compile it.

I have search a bit for a way to do it via batch file but could not find anything. I will keep you posted if I find anything.
__________________
_
George Abdo
NAZDAQ - Your Documents, Your Way.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th May 2009, 19:22
sushil's Avatar
sushil sushil is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 451
sushil is on a distinguished road
Baan: BAAN IV C4 - DB: Oracle - OS: Windows
Hi,

Nowadays all the Antivirus are capable of Webfiltering or End point sec.
eg :

1.Norton Internet security
2.Mcafee total protection
3.NOD32
4.Avast.

So you could block the url centrally in Antivirus Server Domain - so it will pass on to all installed clients .

Hence avoiding the URL to work or show the message.

note: this depends on type of AV installed at your place.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th May 2009, 19:28
sushil's Avatar
sushil sushil is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 451
sushil is on a distinguished road
Baan: BAAN IV C4 - DB: Oracle - OS: Windows
As suggested by Mr.george(Super mod) you could make central deployment of batch files from Windows Active directory.

i.e you can define in startup profile in Domain GPO - who ever login in Windows the batch file will get deployed in desired location say %windir%\system.

You could try the same thing for hosts file deployment (URL rerouting) to all Clients.

Last edited by sushil : 29th May 2009 at 19:39.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #9  
Old 1st June 2009, 16:00
george7a's Avatar
george7a george7a is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Nazareth
Posts: 1,490
george7a is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc, 5.0 b, 5.0 c, LN 6.1 - DB: MS SQL, Oracle - OS: Windows 2000, 2003 & UNIX
Mark,

You can use the "tasklist" Dos command. From it you can get the list of processes that are currently running on the client. You can check whether iexplore.exe is running or not, if it is, save its PID. Then execute your iexplore.exe, wait as much as you need, and kill the new iexplore.exe (by checking the tasklist again...).

I hope this helps,

- George
__________________
_
George Abdo
NAZDAQ - Your Documents, Your Way.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programming Question mr_suleyman Tools Development 37 11th November 2016 08:14
can not start tmboaserver:failed to start JAVA, wrong jdk version david wang Open World, Portal & Decision Manager 2 9th March 2008 03:54
Measuring Original MRP Start Date on SFC order Bryan Manufacturing & Supply Chain 3 3rd September 2004 12:48
Interesting : DLL neuraljack Tools Development 5 22nd January 2004 05:52
Actual Start Date in Planning Sri_baan Project & Services 0 3rd April 2002 09:21


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:38.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com