Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Administration & Installation

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
35%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
42%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
19%
Total votes: 31

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th May 2008, 07:20
010789 010789 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
010789 is on a distinguished road
Baan: baan IV c4 - DB: DB2 - OS: AIX 5.2
How print in a windows remote device printer
Baan: Baan IVc4
DB: DB2 8.0 FP5
OS: AIX 5L 5.2
C/S: None/Unknown

I want to print in a windows remote device printer from any windows XP with
BW client.

My remote device IP is in 179.11.23.45 and the printer name is IMPRE.

Devite type is Windows, and the device queue is:

\\179.11.23.45\IMPRE

When I select that device for printing It answer with a error .

How can I print in a windows remote device printer ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th May 2008, 09:23
bdittmar's Avatar
bdittmar bdittmar is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany, 50.584097,8.544078
Posts: 1,639
bdittmar will become famous soon enough
Baan: 2.2/3.1/4c4/LN6.1 FP6/FP9/HiDox - DB: tbase, ms-sql7, oracle10gV1, 11g - OS: HP-UX, W2K3, SLES
Install/Enable Printer services for UNIX

Quote:
Originally Posted by 010789 View Post
I want to print in a windows remote device printer from any windows XP with
BW client.

My remote device IP is in 179.11.23.45 and the printer name is IMPRE.

Devite type is Windows, and the device queue is:

\\179.11.23.45\IMPRE

When I select that device for printing It answer with a error .

How can I print in a windows remote device printer ?

Hello,

on your XP box, you have to install/ to enable printer services for unix to use rlp from your aix box.

Regards
__________________
//Bernd
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #3  
Old 26th May 2008, 09:30
Markus Schmitz's Avatar
Markus Schmitz Markus Schmitz is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 668
Markus Schmitz is on a distinguished road
Baan: Ivc4 - DB: Oracle8i/9i/10g - OS: HP-Ux11i
Hi there,

I think you misunderstood a bit the concept of windows printing in baan. In principle windows printing means, that the GUI (not the server) prints the report on a windows shared printer.

So lets assume you have a windows print server called X with a shared printer called y, then you siomply enter as device \\x\Y.

If the printer in question is your default printer on the desktop you are working, then you can also simply leave the device empty and bwprint will use this.

rlp and other server related protocolls are not in use here (in case of printer type "windows" in baan). But often it is better/more stable to define the printer on your unix box as a remote or network printer and then define a printer in Baan of type "direct". But this is an alltogether different story.

Regards

Markus
__________________
Markus Schmitz
Senior Consultant
SOFTimpact Ltd.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th May 2008, 18:40
010789 010789 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
010789 is on a distinguished road
Baan: baan IV c4 - DB: DB2 - OS: AIX 5.2
Hello, thanks at all

That I want is to print in a remote Windows device printer for two reasons:
1- to take the fonts of local Windows client PC where de Baan client is running
2- to print in a single comun device printer without install any printer in all the
Windows client PC. The parameter "Device queue" is for that ?. I can use
\\x\Y without install any printer in the Windows client PC's ?


Regards
Txema
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th May 2008, 07:10
Markus Schmitz's Avatar
Markus Schmitz Markus Schmitz is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 668
Markus Schmitz is on a distinguished road
Baan: Ivc4 - DB: Oracle8i/9i/10g - OS: HP-Ux11i
in regards to topic 2: that's correct. the printer doe not need to be installed on the client just on a print server, which is available to the client (from a network and windows authorization perspective)

in regards to topic 1: not so sure, which font is used!!!
__________________
Markus Schmitz
Senior Consultant
SOFTimpact Ltd.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th May 2008, 15:08
010789 010789 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
010789 is on a distinguished road
Baan: baan IV c4 - DB: DB2 - OS: AIX 5.2
But if I not install the printer in the client it say me this mesage:

Printer \\cafbea2\CORREO not locally installerd, install this printer locally, and use this printer ?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th May 2008, 15:20
bdittmar's Avatar
bdittmar bdittmar is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany, 50.584097,8.544078
Posts: 1,639
bdittmar will become famous soon enough
Baan: 2.2/3.1/4c4/LN6.1 FP6/FP9/HiDox - DB: tbase, ms-sql7, oracle10gV1, 11g - OS: HP-UX, W2K3, SLES
Network/Remote/Local

Quote:
Originally Posted by 010789 View Post
But if I not install the printer in the client it say me this mesage:

Printer \\cafbea2\CORREO not locally installerd, install this printer locally, and use this printer ?

Hello,


if you want to use a local attached printer, you have to use only the DEVICE "winprint".

| Printer : WINPRINT
| Description : Windows Drucker
| Type : Windows-Drucker
| Locale : ISO-8859-1 Western Europe - 8 bit
|--Printer -----------------------------------------------------------|
| Driver :
| Queue :
| Paper : A4 A4 format Portrait
| Left margin : 0 Formfeed : Nein
|--Datei -----------------------------------------------------------|
| Driver : Shell-Command : |
| Konv.programm :
| Argument :
| Path :
| Modify :
| Pagelength : 66


Regards
__________________
//Bernd
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th May 2008, 15:40
010789 010789 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
010789 is on a distinguished road
Baan: baan IV c4 - DB: DB2 - OS: AIX 5.2
My printer definition is:

| Printer : IMPRE1
| Description : Windows Printer
| Type : Windows-Printer
| Locale : ISO-8859-1 Western Europe - 8 bit
|--Printer -----------------------------------------------------------|
| Driver :
| Queue : \\cafbea2\CORREO
| Paper : A4 A4 format Portrait
| Left margin : 0 Formfeed : Nein
|--Datei -----------------------------------------------------------|
| Driver :
| Shell-Command : |
| Konv.programm :
| Argument :
| Path :
| Modify :
| Pagelength : 66

Now if I not define the printer \\cafbea2\CORREO in all the client PC
it has a error .
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27th May 2008, 15:58
bdittmar's Avatar
bdittmar bdittmar is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany, 50.584097,8.544078
Posts: 1,639
bdittmar will become famous soon enough
Baan: 2.2/3.1/4c4/LN6.1 FP6/FP9/HiDox - DB: tbase, ms-sql7, oracle10gV1, 11g - OS: HP-UX, W2K3, SLES
Leave Queue blank !

Quote:
Originally Posted by 010789 View Post
My printer definition is:

| Printer : IMPRE1
| Description : Windows Printer
| Type : Windows-Printer
| Locale : ISO-8859-1 Western Europe - 8 bit
|--Printer -----------------------------------------------------------|
| Driver :
| Queue : \\cafbea2\CORREO
| Paper : A4 A4 format Portrait
| Left margin : 0 Formfeed : Nein
|--Datei -----------------------------------------------------------|
| Driver :
| Shell-Command : |
| Konv.programm :
| Argument :
| Path :
| Modify :
| Pagelength : 66

Now if I not define the printer \\cafbea2\CORREO in all the client PC
it has a error .
Hello,

if you leave the QUEUE blank, the default printer of the client is taken !

Is this what you want to achieve ?


Otherwise it is a network based printer !


Regards
__________________
//Bernd
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28th May 2008, 12:17
010789 010789 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
010789 is on a distinguished road
Baan: baan IV c4 - DB: DB2 - OS: AIX 5.2
It is a network based printer.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29th May 2008, 01:31
vahdani's Avatar
vahdani vahdani is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 418
vahdani is on a distinguished road
Baan: all - DB: all - OS: Unix / Win2K
Hi,

do the following:

1- Use the add printer dialog on each PC and add the network printer. Give it the same name say "CORREO" on all PCs.

2- Enter the new printer name "CORREO" in the device queue field.

Should work
__________________
May the force be with you!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programming Question mr_suleyman Tools Development 37 11th November 2016 08:14
Windows printer question PEGAS1 Tools Administration & Installation 4 11th March 2008 17:32
Windows Printer maumau Tools Administration & Installation 5 2nd April 2004 20:16
Can't Print Landscape on Default Windows Printer artjuh Tools Administration & Installation 2 28th March 2003 08:27


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:49.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com