Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Operating Systems & Databases

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
35%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
42%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
19%
Total votes: 31

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th November 2001, 09:53
Badre Alam Badre Alam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 39
Badre Alam is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaaN IV c4 - DB: Informix - OS: Tru64 Unix
restore informix backup

O.S Digital Unix 4.0

We r having approx 40 Gb of data on informix 7.31 (RAW devices), we have test server also but having only 10GB of disk space, my Q r ..

1. Can I take backup of selective dbspace using "ontape -s" ?

2. If yes, can I restore selective dbspace on test server where v don't have RAW deviecs.

3. can I restore data backed-up from raw devices into cooked files ?

4. Is it necessary that both the server must have same configuration setup i.e onconfig and sqlhosts.



thanks,


alamb
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th November 2001, 13:22
Andy..'s Avatar
Andy.. Andy.. is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 236
Andy.. is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaanIVc4, Baan5c, ERP LN - DB: Oracle, Informix, SQL Server - OS: UNIX, Windows Server
1. Can I take backup of selective dbspace using "ontape -s" ?
- NO, the way Baan organises tables makes it not possible.

2. If yes, can I restore selective dbspace on test server where v don't have RAW deviecs.
- NOT REALLY - it is not whether they are raw or cooked, it is the fact that they are in a different location (ie not /dev/raw_links/..)

3. can I restore data backed-up from raw devices into cooked files ?

4. Is it necessary that both the server must have same configuration setup i.e onconfig and sqlhosts.


I have performed this process of backup and restore, but both systems where setup the same in terms of location of /dev/raw_links etc.

I would say the best way to achieve you goal is to dump the data from Baan and import with Baan. Then at least you can select by individual companies.

Of course you will need to copy company 000 and copy the UNIX file structures beneath $BSE as well.

Hope this helps

Andy
__________________
Andy
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #3  
Old 29th November 2001, 21:23
JamesV JamesV is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Posts: 225
JamesV is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IV/5 - DB: Oracle 7/8/8i,Informix, SQL Server, UDB - OS: AIX, HP-UX, Tru64, Solaris, NT/2000
Andy is correct.

If you are restoring from ontape it is an all or nothing affair. You must restore to an environment that exactly matches the backup in size and number of chunks, disk layout but sqlhosts can be different (as this is used by the client).

Hopefully you can bdbpre out just one company and move that to your test system.

-- Jim
__________________
Jim VanderMey
VP of Technical Operations
Open Systems Technologies
Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
jvandermey@ostusa.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th November 2001, 08:47
Han Brinkman's Avatar
Han Brinkman Han Brinkman is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,155
Han Brinkman has a spectacular aura aboutHan Brinkman has a spectacular aura about
Baan: All - DB: Oracle/ms-sql/db2 - OS: *nix/windows
raw devices not necessary

First of all I am not an Informix DBA however I have done this some time ago with help of an Informix DBA.

You don't need raw devices on the system on which you will perform the restore. However the chunks/dbspaces should be setup the same. As long as the links in /dev/raw_links are the same it will work, that they are linked to a cooked file is no problem.

Regards,
Han
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd December 2001, 20:32
Nick Cooley Nick Cooley is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NZ
Posts: 8
Nick Cooley is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVC4 - DB: Informix 7.31 UC6 - OS: Solaris 2.7
Do not use ontape

The selective backup/restore using ontape has nothing to do with the way Baan organises it's tables. This is simply the way this Informix product works. It backs a whole instance of Informix, irrespective of what the application is.

An alternative would be to use onbar, which does allow selective dbspaces to be backed up. This takes more setting up than ontape, but is far more flexible. Check out the Informix website to see how to implement this.

Even better if you have Veritas, as this uses onbar and makes the setting up phase much easier.

Regards
Nick
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Restore informix database Han Brinkman Operating Systems & Databases 6 24th February 2017 04:44
Backup / Restore of software components along with PMC data manusatsangi Tools Administration & Installation 4 14th October 2003 18:25
Informix: Backup problem (ontape) MarioS Operating Systems & Databases 1 21st February 2003 15:24
Informix Backup !! learner Operating Systems & Databases 1 15th January 2003 11:49
Informix Backup Neal Matthews Operating Systems & Databases 1 19th October 2001 04:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:36.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com