Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Development

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
37%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
39%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
21%
Total votes: 38

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th April 2007, 22:29
batmush's Avatar
batmush batmush is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 117
batmush is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaaN IVc4 - DB: Oracle - OS: 2003 Server
Run BaaN session from Windows command line
Baan: Baan IVc4
C/S: Server

Hi,

How can I run BaaN session from Windows command line?
For example, run tibom1411m000 with Item number as a parameter and export into file.

Thank you in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27th April 2007, 22:38
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,930
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
You could write a VB program that takes the parameter and runs tibom1411m000 in the background(using Baans API interface). See the DDC/OLE/AFS forum.
__________________
Mark

GO Cards!
My latest mantra - make sure you have latest stpapi patches and the latest session object. If on LN then please explore the option of using DAL2 functionality.

Shared Solutions for Baan systems provided free by Baan Board.
Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd May 2007, 13:35
en@frrom en@frrom is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,219
en@frrom will become famous soon enough
Baan: B50B - DB: Oracle 8.0 - OS: Win2k AS
or add the session name and parameters in the cmmand line of the .bwc configuration file...
__________________
Member of Baan Board

Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th September 2010, 22:23
GaryEd GaryEd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 135
GaryEd is on a distinguished road
Baan: 4c4 sp 30 - DB: SQL 2008 R2 - OS: Windows 2008 R2
Can you give an example of how to fill the command line of the bwc to run a session and pass the parameters?
__________________
Gary
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #5  
Old 28th September 2010, 17:35
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,930
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
In the bwc configuration all you do is put the session name in the command box. Not sure how to actually pass parameters.
__________________
Mark

GO Cards!
My latest mantra - make sure you have latest stpapi patches and the latest session object. If on LN then please explore the option of using DAL2 functionality.

Shared Solutions for Baan systems provided free by Baan Board.
Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th September 2010, 18:13
GaryEd GaryEd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 135
GaryEd is on a distinguished road
Baan: 4c4 sp 30 - DB: SQL 2008 R2 - OS: Windows 2008 R2
Thanks Mark,

I know we can put a session name in the command line. We use that fairly often.

The earlier post from en@frrom implied that it was possible to also pass parameters through the command line. That was what I was lookng for more info on.

en, are you still visiting baanboard?
__________________
Gary

Last edited by mark_h : 29th September 2010 at 16:32.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th September 2010, 13:49
Han Brinkman's Avatar
Han Brinkman Han Brinkman is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,155
Han Brinkman has a spectacular aura aboutHan Brinkman has a spectacular aura about
Baan: All - DB: Oracle/ms-sql/db2 - OS: *nix/windows
Gary,

I know at least a work around:
- create a job that's performing the thing(s) you want;
- you can start the job using a commandline;
- just before doing this use some external program that modifies the ttaad503 table changing the job parameters.

Another way: write a session that read's your parameter from e.g. a file, use afs to start the export session. Start this session using the job method.

Regards,
Han
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th September 2010, 16:46
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,930
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
Well on the unix platform on the actual command line I can set environment variables and then read them into the program using getenv$. I am not sure there is an equivalent on the windows OS your profile shows. I can have a command line like -- -set SITE=XX1 tiudi3430m000 - the the session tiudi3430m000 could use the site environment variable to execute some action.
__________________
Mark

GO Cards!
My latest mantra - make sure you have latest stpapi patches and the latest session object. If on LN then please explore the option of using DAL2 functionality.

Shared Solutions for Baan systems provided free by Baan Board.
Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30th September 2010, 20:22
shah_bs's Avatar
shah_bs shah_bs is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lewisville, Texas
Posts: 387
shah_bs is on a distinguished road
Baan: BAAN IVc3 with A&D2.2b - DB: ORACLE 9 - OS: HPUX
I am curious why you have this requirement. Maybe you have a different session in mind and are using tibom1411m000 simply as example.

My understanding is, unless the session is customized to recognize command line arguments, running it from the command line will just bring up the form so we can still continue and type in the required values and make the session run.

For example, I tried the following:

bin/bw.exe tibom1410m000 itemcode1 itemcode2

and the screen for tibom1410m000 came up as if I had run it from the menu. itemcode1 and itemcode2 were just ignored.

So, then I tried the following code:

Code:
before.program:
        item.f = argv$(1)
        item.t = argv$(2)

        message(item.f)
        message(item.t)
and ran the session as before and the message commands showed me the values that I had passed to the command line. So, as far as customization goes, in the case of tibom1410m000, I would assign the first value to item.f, the next to item.t, (and so on) and then also customize to make the session pick ASCII as the device, force in some output file name, and make it proceed to choice.cont.process to get my output file.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
access external table from baan session nokopi Tools Development 5 5th March 2010 18:26
OLE Zugriff von MS Word auf Baan Daten Locher Deutsches Forum 9 28th May 2006 21:32
Baanboard.com Community Bulletin 01/05/2002 patvdv About Baanboard.com 0 1st May 2002 16:04
BSP-US (LLC) added as a Baan Education Alliance svandenh General Discussion & Chat 1 20th August 2001 20:44


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:56.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com