Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > General Topics > General Discussion & Chat

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
35%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
42%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
19%
Total votes: 31

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd December 2006, 08:19
baancust baancust is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 62
baancust is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IV - DB: informix 7 - OS: unix
Wrapper technology query

Hi,
I wanted to know if QKEY ,Rush ,RMCgen used for the wrapper technology is useful in case we already have access to the standard script and we have an option to copy the script and modify it and write another session to serve the same purpose.Does it have any advantages w.r.t Service Pack changes also getting included automatically in case we use wrapper technology which is the main disadvantage if we copy the std script and make changes ?When we use the freeware rushdll it requires the std baan dll tccomdllrush for its execution is the script available in this forum or should we request the same from baan.


Regards
Rekha
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th December 2006, 02:17
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,905
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
I believe the tccomdllrush library is available in the Code and utilities forum. Everything you need should be in the post.

The advantage of using this technology is that you do not have to modify standard baan. The technology works off the most current object. So when you get a patch for an object your code should just work off of it. If you maintain baan standard code everytime you get a patch you either have to incorporate your changes or copy the new changes into your code. Of course Baan will not support your code. With Qkey, Rush and RMCGen all you have to do is remove your object and test against standard baan - which baan will support.

Dis-advantage is that you can not change functions - you can call different ones, or rewrite the one that gets called. Not as flexible as maintaining the actual source code. Sometimes debugging can be difficult when trying to figure out whether a problem is in your code or baan code.

We use Qkey and I am glad we have it.
__________________
Mark

GO Cards!
My latest mantra - make sure you have latest stpapi patches and the latest session object. If on LN then please explore the option of using DAL2 functionality.

Shared Solutions for Baan systems provided free by Baan Board.
Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th January 2007, 18:25
baancust baancust is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 62
baancust is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IV - DB: informix 7 - OS: unix
Wrapper tech

Thank you very much Mark

Regards
Baancust
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th January 2007, 20:57
naabi0 naabi0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Alabama
Posts: 81
naabi0 is on a distinguished road
Does QKey work with LN?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th January 2007, 22:06
lbencic's Avatar
lbencic lbencic is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lisle, IL, USA
Posts: 1,148
lbencic will become famous soon enough
Baan: 2.2d - LN - DB: most - OS: most
I can't speak for QKEY, my company, RMCis puts out a similar product called RMCgen. The concepts still work in LN, you can wrap the UI script, add code to it, create your own sections, etc. However, since so much of the logic has been moved and overridden by the DAL's, the results are diminishing.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #6  
Old 29th March 2007, 19:44
sikima's Avatar
sikima sikima is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 26
sikima is on a distinguished road
Baan: 1.0 - LN - DB: Oracle, SQL Server - OS: Unix, Windows
As I know, Qkey is working with DAL. Also, Qkey is working on new porting set (8.2) - not sure about 8.3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th March 2007, 21:12
naabi0 naabi0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Alabama
Posts: 81
naabi0 is on a distinguished road
I was told by Fullscope that it won't work with LN.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th March 2007, 21:18
lbencic's Avatar
lbencic lbencic is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lisle, IL, USA
Posts: 1,148
lbencic will become famous soon enough
Baan: 2.2d - LN - DB: most - OS: most
Again, can't speak for Fullscope/Qkey here. But for ours, it 'works' for the DAL, but there is a problem sending Arrays as arguments, and some DAL's use that, as do some libraries. Also, the DAL's are changed/patched so much in LN right now that it's very high maintenance. We would not recommend wrapping the DAL's without very careful consideration, and if it is passing arrays as arguments, we do not support it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't query the ttadv380 table. walter01 Tools Development 23 17th September 2006 01:18
Desktop Query eshirley Tools Administration & Installation 0 10th September 2002 02:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:43.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com