Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Administration & Installation

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
35%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
42%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
19%
Total votes: 31

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th August 2005, 12:41
newtobaan's Avatar
newtobaan newtobaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 36
newtobaan is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaanC4 SP19 - DB: Oracle 9i - OS: HP UX
Red face Cannot run reports as normal user

Hi,

We have a problem with printing reports. If the user is a normal user any report takes ages to run. But as soon as the user is converted to a super user the sessions runs quickly. I presume its an authorisation problem.

so what authorisations are required to be set to get this corrected?

Thanks all in advance

BG
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th August 2005, 07:06
Rita Kotecha Rita Kotecha is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 214
Rita Kotecha is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan Vc - DB: SQL 2k - OS: Win 2k
Hi


If it takes time and then shows the output of the report after a while, then I think it is not a authorization issue.

If authorizations are not set it would not generate the report at all.
__________________
Regards
Rita
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th August 2005, 10:06
newtobaan's Avatar
newtobaan newtobaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 36
newtobaan is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaanC4 SP19 - DB: Oracle 9i - OS: HP UX
It does not run

It keeps going on forever. The last time, I was really patient with it and let it run for 30 mins! For the print period master (which will at the most have 200 records) this is just too much time. So the report is not really showing any output.

But after converting to super user. It is fine!!!

BG
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th August 2005, 11:01
victor_cleto's Avatar
victor_cleto victor_cleto is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Portugal
Posts: 776
victor_cleto is on a distinguished road
Baan: none (B40c4 was last) - DB: Oracle - OS: Linux (RHEL)
Normal user authorizations are checked against a runtime authorization table and it may be that you have problems on that table. I would run that session with debug information (search the threads for DBSLOG) to try to get an idea on what is going on with that and where Baan is spending its time.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st August 2005, 11:48
Markus Schmitz's Avatar
Markus Schmitz Markus Schmitz is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 668
Markus Schmitz is on a distinguished road
Baan: Ivc4 - DB: Oracle8i/9i/10g - OS: HP-Ux11i
It might also be, that you have record/row level security on one of the tables involved. This will add some conditions to the where clause of the report and in unlucky cases an index oriented access becomes a full table scan.

A super user would have no such problem.
__________________
Markus Schmitz
Senior Consultant
SOFTimpact Ltd.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st August 2005, 13:43
Rita Kotecha Rita Kotecha is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 214
Rita Kotecha is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan Vc - DB: SQL 2k - OS: Win 2k
Hi


Please check ttaad4130m000, ttaad4131m000, ttaad4132m000, ttaad4133m000, ttaad4134m000, ttaad4135m000 --- If you have any autorizations conflict for the normal user.
__________________
Regards
Rita
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd September 2005, 11:21
fmorais's Avatar
fmorais fmorais is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Portugal
Posts: 164
fmorais is on a distinguished road
Baan: B4c4 - DB: MSSQL, Oracle, Informix, BBase - OS: Windows, AIX
Check table data authorizations...

I had the exact same problem at a customer, and it had to do with what Markus is referring. They had about 30 condition records into

ttaad4134m000 - Maintain table data authorizations.

The report ran forever for an ormal user...
If your problem is also related to this, the only solution is to convert them to superusers or try to put less conditions the table data authorizations. There are no miracles.

Fred
__________________
The Sleeper has Awakened.

Last edited by fmorais : 2nd September 2005 at 12:38.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd September 2005, 12:07
newtobaan's Avatar
newtobaan newtobaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 36
newtobaan is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaanC4 SP19 - DB: Oracle 9i - OS: HP UX
No table level authorisations

I checked the users. In fact cobverted him to super user and then made him normal user and gave him access to all modules in ti , tc, td, tf and tt.

Still not Luck!

I did a TT_SQL_TRACE = 0200. it seems to take forever while querying ttaad300 table! Does not make much sense. Actually thisenvironment is an archive company on a separate oracle instance. Could there be problems related to that? Or any other ideas ... any suggestions all welcome.

Thanks

BG
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #9  
Old 2nd September 2005, 14:08
victor_cleto's Avatar
victor_cleto victor_cleto is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Portugal
Posts: 776
victor_cleto is on a distinguished road
Baan: none (B40c4 was last) - DB: Oracle - OS: Linux (RHEL)
I would look at the table where the query is taking a long time (isn't ttaad300 the Maintain Printer Queue? This is stored on company 000). If this table contains huge ammounts of job information, can take ages - that's why we always had UNIX direct printing devices, no pdaemon's and less ttaad300 overhead.

If it's only printing, you should start looking at your pdaemon poling time or try to go for direct printing (search the threads).
If affects other sessions, then it may be a problem accessing the tt tables (too many authorizations within tt module?)

Last edited by victor_cleto : 2nd September 2005 at 14:17.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd September 2005, 18:04
Francesco's Avatar
Francesco Francesco is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Antwerp, BE
Posts: 727
Francesco is on a distinguished road
Baan: 5b - DB: Oracle - OS: Solaris
ttaad300 = display device data

That doesn't make sense at first sight.

So are you saying that this problem ONLY occurs in the archive company?
And for clarification, does the report ever finish or do normal users hang indefinitely?

The only difference between an archive company and a regular company that I can think off is that the first may share some tables from another company. THAT company might require superuser status to do so.
Maybe ttaad300 is one of the shared tables (very possible).
__________________
Cheers,

Francesco
..............................................................

Admiral Business Solutions | My World | Baan Board | IT Happens!

"If everyone is thinking alike, then somebody isn't thinking" -- George Patton
"It's easy to cry 'bug' when the truth is that you've got a complex system and sometimes it takes a while to get all the components to co-exist peacefully." -- Doug Vargas
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2nd September 2005, 18:42
dave_23's Avatar
dave_23 dave_23 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,303
dave_23 will become famous soon enough
Baan: All - DB: Oracle / MS SQL / DB2 - OS: All
Can you do an ORAPROF=0 and post the results?

Also, how about your tabledef6.1, db_resource and ora_storage/ora_storage2
files?

Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
error : ba6.1 Not Authorized to run as user <user> while running a job chiqui Tools Administration & Installation 0 29th March 2005 11:21
Not authorized to run as user baan positive Tools Administration & Installation 7 29th June 2004 08:56
AFS (tfgld1101m000) don´t run fine since a user with a Dynamic menu (DEM) garias AFS/DDC/OLE: Function servers 4 20th January 2004 14:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:45.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com