Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Development

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
35%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
42%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
19%
Total votes: 31

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th May 2005, 20:04
ltannous's Avatar
ltannous ltannous is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 280
ltannous is on a distinguished road
Baan: 4c4 - DB: Oracle - OS: UNIX
Start a customized session from a standard session

I have created a print/update session that is activated from a main session. In the main session I dont have source code so I added my customized session to start by adding it to the choice field in my main session form.

How can I get my session to continue once the main session is completed.
Currently it completes the main session activity, then my session appears for the user to select continue. I want to bypass the contiue option and just have it activate.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th May 2005, 00:13
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,905
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
I did something like this once. Not sure if it will work for you:
Code:
form.1:
init.form:
  if background then
     execute(cont.process)
  endif

In my case I knew when I zoomed to(or activated) the session I would be executing the code based on some import parameters.
__________________
Mark

GO Cards!
My latest mantra - make sure you have latest stpapi patches and the latest session object. If on LN then please explore the option of using DAL2 functionality.

Shared Solutions for Baan systems provided free by Baan Board.
Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.

Last edited by mark_h : 20th May 2005 at 13:42.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th May 2005, 13:44
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,905
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
Not sure if I was real clear. This code would go into your custom session. I think(but am not positive) that background will be true when your session is activated. At that point this session would then execute the continue process.
__________________
Mark

GO Cards!
My latest mantra - make sure you have latest stpapi patches and the latest session object. If on LN then please explore the option of using DAL2 functionality.

Shared Solutions for Baan systems provided free by Baan Board.
Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th May 2005, 16:09
ltannous's Avatar
ltannous ltannous is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 280
ltannous is on a distinguished road
Baan: 4c4 - DB: Oracle - OS: UNIX
Thanks, that worked.

That worked.
Is there a way not to have my form display?
I tried to remove my form, but I get an error that the form is missing.

I actually want to remove the form and report and just use the program to update a table.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th May 2005, 19:07
NPRao's Avatar
NPRao NPRao is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Posts: 3,028
NPRao will become famous soon enough
Baan: iBaanERP-5.2a(Reger),SSA-ERP-LN-6.1,Infor LN-10.x - DB: Oracle-10g,11g,12c,MS-SQL - OS: HP-UX, Linux, Windows
You can make a session with 3-GL attached to it and use activate() or other functions to start the standard session and then do your processing.
__________________
The art of perfection does not lie in doing extraordinary things but, doing ordinary things extraordinarily well. [-N. Prashanth Rao]
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way,BaaNBoard,NPRao
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th May 2005, 19:13
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,905
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
As NPR says you could make it a 3GL. My users like to know what is going on with processing. I have always left the form visible(with processing messages). That gives them a warm fuzzy feeling.
__________________
Mark

GO Cards!
My latest mantra - make sure you have latest stpapi patches and the latest session object. If on LN then please explore the option of using DAL2 functionality.

Shared Solutions for Baan systems provided free by Baan Board.
Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th May 2005, 19:17
NPRao's Avatar
NPRao NPRao is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Posts: 3,028
NPRao will become famous soon enough
Baan: iBaanERP-5.2a(Reger),SSA-ERP-LN-6.1,Infor LN-10.x - DB: Oracle-10g,11g,12c,MS-SQL - OS: HP-UX, Linux, Windows
As Mark said, you can use display fields on form to show what's happening or use progress indicators (search for the other threads on board for your BaaN Version).
__________________
The art of perfection does not lie in doing extraordinary things but, doing ordinary things extraordinarily well. [-N. Prashanth Rao]
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way,BaaNBoard,NPRao
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th May 2005, 20:39
lbencic's Avatar
lbencic lbencic is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lisle, IL, USA
Posts: 1,148
lbencic will become famous soon enough
Baan: 2.2d - LN - DB: most - OS: most
They may not want to make it 3gl - they may want to use the same session / logic that they use as an interactive session.

One thing we use in our ddc code is the variable sattr.slave:

Code:
if background then
    sattr.slave = true
    execute(cont.process)
endif

and this seems to make the form not appear. You can try that, I think it's standard (or we wrote something buried that I am not aware of...) Let us know if that works.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th May 2005, 20:43
lbencic's Avatar
lbencic lbencic is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lisle, IL, USA
Posts: 1,148
lbencic will become famous soon enough
Baan: 2.2d - LN - DB: most - OS: most
Actually, sattr.slave should go in the before program, not the init.form section.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20th May 2005, 21:18
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 6,905
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
None of the help on our systems has that predefined variable. I did compile a program just see if it worked on our release of 4c4 and it did. Learned something new today - thanks Lisa. I can go home and feel like I was successful(for at least one day).
__________________
Mark

GO Cards!
My latest mantra - make sure you have latest stpapi patches and the latest session object. If on LN then please explore the option of using DAL2 functionality.

Shared Solutions for Baan systems provided free by Baan Board.
Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #11  
Old 24th May 2005, 17:37
Hitesh Shah's Avatar
Hitesh Shah Hitesh Shah is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Mumbai,India
Posts: 1,855
Hitesh Shah is on a distinguished road
Baan: triton,Baan IVc4 , ERP Ln - DB: Oracle/Bisam/SQL 2000/SQL 2005 - OS: Sun Solaris/Windows 2003
no form

Quote:
Originally Posted by ltannous
That worked.
Is there a way not to have my form display?
I tried to remove my form, but I get an error that the form is missing.

I actually want to remove the form and report and just use the program to update a table.
Besides 3GL program , u can also write the code to update a table in the before.program of ur 4GL session and exit the sesison (end() / stop() .. ) in before.program section after table is updated . In this way the form will not be displayed to the user even in 4gl program.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 25th May 2005, 22:13
ltannous's Avatar
ltannous ltannous is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 280
ltannous is on a distinguished road
Baan: 4c4 - DB: Oracle - OS: UNIX
Thanks for all the input

I went with a few of the options. I took the sugesstion to run the progess bar on the form for the users "comfort".

I have another issues now. When I set my customized session to run from the main session using the choice option in the main session form, once my session has completed its task, if I click with my mouse anywhere on the main sesison form, my session gets activated again. How can I prevent this from happening.

Is there any way to exit the main session when my session has completed its task? without source code?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 26th May 2005, 05:24
LittleJohn's Avatar
LittleJohn LittleJohn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: CA
Posts: 184
LittleJohn is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan4c2, Baan Vc - DB: SQL 2000, 7.0 - OS: Win 2003, Win2K Adv Server
dirty...

dirty way... but you can. Import the "pid" value of the parent session in your customized session and once the process is completed... kill the parent and then kill your session.
Parent session wont exit "gracefully"...... but you can display a message to the user that the process is terminating.

Regards
LittleJohn
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 26th May 2005, 09:16
kathuria's Avatar
kathuria kathuria is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 134
kathuria is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaaN IV, BaaN V, SSA ERP LN6.1(BaaN VI) - DB: SQL , Oracle - OS: UNIX, WIndow Server 2000/2003
Not working

Hi,

I have added one customize session in choice of main session. I want to activate customization session when exit from main session. I don't have code of main session. I have used procedure which is explained but not working.

Regards
Sanjay
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 26th May 2005, 14:04
ltannous's Avatar
ltannous ltannous is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 280
ltannous is on a distinguished road
Baan: 4c4 - DB: Oracle - OS: UNIX
Enter your customized session in the choice field

Quote:
Originally Posted by kathuria
Hi,

I have added one customize session in choice of main session. I want to activate customization session when exit from main session. I don't have code of main session. I have used procedure which is explained but not working.

Regards
Sanjay
Add your customized session number in the choice option of the main session form. Make sure you dump the form.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Call a customized session form Standard Session das_k_tushar Tools Development 20 2nd September 2004 16:11
Start Session from VB Gianricus AFS/DDC/OLE: Function servers 0 21st July 2004 17:04
Problem when invoking a session from another manusatsangi Tools Development 9 18th August 2003 13:40
Pass values from standard session to a customized session !!! learner Tools Development 3 16th May 2003 21:07
How to incorporate report in baan standard session ??? learner Tools Development 5 24th March 2003 18:57


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:03.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com