Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Administration & Installation

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
35%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
42%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
19%
Total votes: 31

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th October 2003, 14:54
baaniac baaniac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 62
baaniac is on a distinguished road
Baan: TRITON 3.1b, Baan IV b2/c2/c4, BaanERP 5.0b - DB: tbase, Oracle, Informix - OS: Sun Solaris, OSF, HP-UX
Problem with Porting Set 7.1c.03 for BaanERP 5.0b on Sun Solaris 5.0b

Hi,

We have the following Baan Environment at our end -
Hardware - Sun Solaris 5.7, JVM 1.2.2
BaanERP Version - 5.0b
Service Pack - 11
Current Porting Set - 6.2a.03.01
Backend - Oracle 8.0.5
Driver Level - Level 1 on 2 Companies and Level 3 on 3 Companies

We want to upgrade to Porting Set 7.1c.03.

For upgrade, we followed exactly the same steps given in Porting Set Installation Guide. Additionally, we also ran ora_update script, which has created a directory oracle_home in $BSE/lib/ora. Contents of $BSE/lib/ora/oracle_home
- a file Version, which shows Oracle Version as 8.0.6.3.0. !
- directories ocommon, rdbms, network; which don't have much relevant information.

Despite this, whenever we complete the installation and try to connect to Baan, it gives errors with a message "ttdskmsg0003 ?????" (Attaching the error message) shows a Puhs Button and when we press the Push Button, it terminates the Baan connection. Logs do not show any relevant information.

Has anyone faced this problem ? What is the solution ?

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ttdskbrw.jpg (20.2 KB, 139 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th November 2003, 10:36
baaniac baaniac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 62
baaniac is on a distinguished road
Baan: TRITON 3.1b, Baan IV b2/c2/c4, BaanERP 5.0b - DB: tbase, Oracle, Informix - OS: Sun Solaris, OSF, HP-UX
Only Level 2 Companies supported from Porting Set 7.1c.03 onwards ?

Hi,

When I set DBSLOG variable in my "bw" environment and when I connect to the Baan System, before upgrade and after upgrade, I get different DBSLOGs.

Our Tools Co. "000" makes use of Level 1 Driver. When I connect to Baan using normal login, DBSLOG shows that it is using Level 1 Driver for 000 company and accordingly, fetches data successfully from tools tables like ttgfd420, ttadv112 etc.

When I upgrade the Porting Set and connect to Baan System, somehow it does not sense that Company 000 is set up in Level 1 mode and then, skews up all the queries.

Is my conclusion correct ?

If so, what is the way out ? I tried setting up ORA_LEVEL=1 variable in "bw" environment, in tabledef6.2 and in db_resource file.

Only other solution I see is take a dump of 000 company and then re-create it using Level 2 setting.

Is there any other way ? What would happen to other existing companies in Level 1 mode ?

Please advise.

Thanks
------------------------------------------------------
Extracts from DBSLOG, before upgrade

<26521> 2003-11-04[16:39:03]: Logging started mode 0777777777
---- LOG DICT INFO [0000001] ----
---- LOG QUERY INFO [0000002] ----
---- LOG PLAN INFO [0000004] ----
---- LOG ROW INFO [0000010] ----
---- LOG TABLE INFO [0000020] ----
---- LOG DB INFO [0000040] ----
---- LOG DBMS INFO [0000100] ----
---- LOG ADMIN INFO [0000200] ----
---- LOG SQL INFO [0000400] ----
---- LOG DEBUG INFO [0001000] ----
---- LOG QPS INFO [0002000] ----
---- LOG DUB INFO [0004000] ----
---- LOG RETRY INFO [0100000] ----
---- LOG LOCKS INFO [0200000] ----

oracle_attach_server
Level 1 driver function settings

Set to LEVEL_1 driver

----------------------------------------
Extracts from DBSLOG, after upgrade

<26065> 2003-11-04[21:55:23]: Logging started mode 0777777777
---- LOG DICT INFO [0000001] ----
---- LOG QUERY INFO [0000002] ----
---- LOG PLAN INFO [0000004] ----
---- LOG ROW INFO [0000010] ----
---- LOG TABLE INFO [0000020] ----
---- LOG DB INFO [0000040] ----
---- LOG DBMS INFO [0000100] ----
---- LOG ADMIN INFO [0000200] ----
---- LOG SQL INFO [0000400] ----
---- LOG DEBUG INFO [0001000] ----
---- LOG QPS INFO [0002000] ----
---- LOG DUB INFO [0004000] ----
---- LOG RETRY INFO [0100000] ----
---- LOG LOCKS INFO [0200000] ----

oracle_attach_server
oracle client version = 8.0.6.3.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th November 2003, 10:56
NvanBeest's Avatar
NvanBeest NvanBeest is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: South Africa
Posts: 521
NvanBeest is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaanIVc4 - DB: Oracle, TBase, SQL Server - OS: AIX, Linux, Window$
For the first issue: Can you connect to the database with sqlplus? Using the user baan with it's password? It is trying to display a message, but can not retrieve the message's label from the database, and the same for the button. Also, check your log files, there might be some entries explaining the error.

As for the level 1 and 2 issue: If you switch (or have to switch) from the one to the other, you will have to do it for all companies, using bdbpre and bdbpost! There is a fundamental difference between the two levels, namely level 1 uses hash columns to enable indexes, and level 2 does not, but uses regular Oracle indexes. Incompatible!
__________________
Regards,
Nico
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th November 2003, 11:48
baaniac baaniac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 62
baaniac is on a distinguished road
Baan: TRITON 3.1b, Baan IV b2/c2/c4, BaanERP 5.0b - DB: tbase, Oracle, Informix - OS: Sun Solaris, OSF, HP-UX
Hi Nico,

Thank you very much for your quick reply.

Connection to database using user "baan" works successfully. And, I can see hash columns in tables of tools company "000"; confirming that it is in Level 1 mode.

Problem seems to be like this -
- Before upgrade of Porting Set, Oracle Driver was correctly sensing that tools company "000" was in Level 1 mode and accordingly had adjusted its queries on tables of tools company.

- After upgrade, Oracle Driver does not sense that tools company "000" is in Level 1 mode and then, skews up the queries on tables of tools company and that causes the problem.

Before upgrade, when I DBSLOGged and connected to Baan, it sensed correctly that tools company "000" is in Level 1 mode. I can see entries in DBSLOG like -
-----------------
Level 1 driver function settings

Set to LEVEL_1 driver
----------------------


Also, the SQL Queries to tools tables show hash columns like -
---------------
Physical table name : 'baan.tttadv999000'
Owner class : group
Number of total columns : 6
Number of real columns : 5
Number of hash columns : 1
Number of pseudo columns : 0
Number of base columns : 5
Number of combined columns : 1
Number of column relations : 3
Number of column conversions : 0
Number of indexes : 1
Refresh Time: 5
Table idxopt: 0144
n Column Type Size Dept Elem Flag Digv Diga DbName
1 pacc 6 8 0 0 13120 0 0 t$pacc
2 keyr 6 22 0 0 13120 0 0 t$keyr
3 desc 6 80 0 0 4160 0 0 t$desc
4 Refcntd 3 4 0 0 64 0 0 t$Refcntd
5 Refcntu 3 4 0 0 64 0 0 t$Refcntu
6 hash1 10 30 0 1 16 0 0 hash1


----------------------
Now, after upgrade, I see following line in DBSLOG -

----------------------
oracle client version = 8.0.6.3.0.
----------------------

There is no indication of Level 1 setting.

Then the queries also do not show any Hash Column like this -
----------------------
Physical table name : 'baan.tttadv999000'
Number of total columns : 5
Number of real columns : 5
Number of hash columns : 0
Number of pseudo columns : 0
Number of base columns : 5
Number of combined columns : 1
Number of column relations : 3
Number of column conversions : 0
Number of indexes : 1
Refresh Time: 5
Table idxopt: 0144
n Column Type Size Dept Elem Flag Digv Diga DbName
1 pacc 6 8 0 0 12608 0 0 t$pacc
2 keyr 6 22 0 0 12608 0 0 t$keyr
3 desc 6 80 0 0 4160 0 0 t$desc
4 Refcntd 3 4 0 0 64 0 0 t$Refcntd
5 Refcntu 3 4 0 0 64 0 0 t$Refcntu
----------------------

I just upgraded the Porting Set. I did not make any modifications in tabledef6.2. Still, it goes into Level 2 mode.

So is there any way, by which I can prevent, this Level 2 access of tools company 000 ?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th November 2003, 12:40
NvanBeest's Avatar
NvanBeest NvanBeest is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: South Africa
Posts: 521
NvanBeest is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaanIVc4 - DB: Oracle, TBase, SQL Server - OS: AIX, Linux, Window$
During the upgrade, did the ora_storage file change? If so, replace it again with the old one. Do the same for the db_resource file, and carefully check the tabledef6.2 as well. There might be some small changes that you have overlooked?
__________________
Regards,
Nico
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th November 2003, 14:08
baaniac baaniac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 62
baaniac is on a distinguished road
Baan: TRITON 3.1b, Baan IV b2/c2/c4, BaanERP 5.0b - DB: tbase, Oracle, Informix - OS: Sun Solaris, OSF, HP-UX
Hi Nico,

During upgrade
- ora_storage has not changed at all. I checked this from the backup. There is no "diff" between the ora_storage in the live environment and ora_storage in the backup.

- db_resource too has not changed.

- As per Support recommendations, I ran ora_update script also.
But it should have added a line oracle_client_home:...
In $BSE/lib/ora, I find oracle_home_t created by ora_update.

After upgrade, I trying connecting to baan
- using default db_resource, without oracle_client_home entry

- using default db_resource, with oracle_client_home entry

- using user specific db_resource, with oracle_client_home entry

- using user specific db_resource, without oracle_client_home entry

Still, it has not solved the problem. Currently, I am sticking to user specifc db_resource file.

I tried setting up ora_level1 variable
- in user specific db_resource and specifying that variable in bw configuration like this -
ORA_LEVEL1:1

- in tabledef6.2, by adding entry for my user ID and all tables in company "000" with ora_level1=1 setting like this -
{smg}000:*racle8(ORACLE_HOME=/d2/app/oracle/product/805,ORACLE_SID=BAAN5,ORA_LEVEL1=1):N

Still, it has not solved the problem.

From DBSLOG, I find that before db_resource file is read, it switches to Level 2 mode.

Is there any other way by which I can stop switching to Level 2 ?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th November 2003, 14:54
NvanBeest's Avatar
NvanBeest NvanBeest is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: South Africa
Posts: 521
NvanBeest is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaanIVc4 - DB: Oracle, TBase, SQL Server - OS: AIX, Linux, Window$
This beats me! I have no access to BaanV, otherwise I could dig deeper.

In BaanIV, the message ttdskbrw0022 has a meaning of: "Can not load symbol %s from group %s". Maybe this is useful to you. The message can be found in the table ttadv450 company 000 in BaanIV. Could you check this on your system? Another option would be to switch on some debugging options in the bshell, and see whether that gives any clues.

Also, I see you are upgrading from 6.2x to 7.1x porting set. Maybe company 000 has to be reconfigured for this as well?

If this doesn't point to ways to solve it, one of the BaanV people will have to help...
__________________
Regards,
Nico
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #8  
Old 4th November 2003, 15:49
baaniac baaniac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 62
baaniac is on a distinguished road
Baan: TRITON 3.1b, Baan IV b2/c2/c4, BaanERP 5.0b - DB: tbase, Oracle, Informix - OS: Sun Solaris, OSF, HP-UX
Hi Nico.

Thank you very much for patiently hearing my case.

Yes. What you have said is true. In table ttadv450 (Messages by Language), I do find all relevant messages - ttdsk0022 etc. under language code 2 i.e. English. Based upon this code and the DBSLOG, I suspect it to be a problem of Database Server setting.

Neither Porting Set Upgrade procedure nor Support recommend to reconfigure tools company 000. If this co. is reconfigured to be suitable for Level 2 driver, what about the other co.s which are on level 1 ?

When I revert back the upgrade i.e. restore to 6.2a.03.01 and upgrade to another Porting Set 7.1a (from BaanERP 5.0c available on another server), it goes successfully, without any problem.

Incidentally, on this other server, I just now completed upgrade to the same Porting Set 7.1c.03 from Porting Set 7.1a, but in BaanERP 5.0c environment. In this environment, tools co. is already in Level 2 mode. So, the upgrade went off smoothly and did not give any problem at all.

This is really strange.

Any ideas on what could be the reason ?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th November 2003, 16:24
NvanBeest's Avatar
NvanBeest NvanBeest is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: South Africa
Posts: 521
NvanBeest is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaanIVc4 - DB: Oracle, TBase, SQL Server - OS: AIX, Linux, Window$
It looks like a problem with the levels. Maybe the only way to update your first environment will be to first switch the levels of all the companies to level 2, and then upgrade the porting set.
__________________
Regards,
Nico
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4th November 2003, 18:47
NPRao's Avatar
NPRao NPRao is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Posts: 3,028
NPRao will become famous soon enough
Baan: iBaanERP-5.2a(Reger),SSA-ERP-LN-6.1,Infor LN-10.x - DB: Oracle-10g,11g,12c,MS-SQL - OS: HP-UX, Linux, Windows
baaniac,

I am not exactly sure thats the problem is.
On our system the messages -
ttdskbrw0022 - Cannot load icon '%1$s', group '%2$s'
and ttdskmsg00003 - OK

can you please post the contents of $BSE/lib/defaults/db_resource, I guess it might give some clues.
__________________
The art of perfection does not lie in doing extraordinary things but, doing ordinary things extraordinarily well. [-N. Prashanth Rao]
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way,BaaNBoard,NPRao
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 4th November 2003, 21:09
Francesco's Avatar
Francesco Francesco is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Antwerp, BE
Posts: 727
Francesco is on a distinguished road
Baan: 5b - DB: Oracle - OS: Solaris
While you're at it..

Post your ipc_info file.
__________________
Cheers,

Francesco
..............................................................

Admiral Business Solutions | My World | Baan Board | IT Happens!

"If everyone is thinking alike, then somebody isn't thinking" -- George Patton
"It's easy to cry 'bug' when the truth is that you've got a complex system and sometimes it takes a while to get all the components to co-exist peacefully." -- Doug Vargas
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 5th November 2003, 07:23
baaniac baaniac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 62
baaniac is on a distinguished road
Baan: TRITON 3.1b, Baan IV b2/c2/c4, BaanERP 5.0b - DB: tbase, Oracle, Informix - OS: Sun Solaris, OSF, HP-UX
Thank you all for your kind attention in this problem. It's really heartening to find that I am not all alone and people are there to help.

Some updates -

1. Contents of db_resource
-----------------------------------
ORA_LEVEL1:1
oracle_client_home:/d8/baan5/bse/lib/ora/oracle_home
BDB_DEBUG:77777
dbsinit:021
ora_default_tablespace:datspace
ora_temporary_tablespace:temp
MT_OPTIMIZER_MODE:dummy
ST_OPTIMIZER_MODE:dummy
rds_full:50
LOCK_RETRY:"5*100,5*500,5*2500,5*5000"
---------------------------------------------------------
"ORA_LEVEL1:1" is the new entry, which I added to try force Baan to work in Level 1 mode.

"oracle_client_home:/d8/baan5/bse/lib/ora/oracle_home" is the entry added by ora_update script.

Connection to Baan gives the same error and generates the same DBSLOG i.e. "oracle client version = 8.0.6.3.0" etc., even after I remove the above two entries.


2. Contents of ipc_info
------------------------------
bshell s 0 0 p ${BSE}/bin/bshell6.2
bshell.inst s 0 0 p ${BSE}/bin/bshell_inst6.2
audit s 501 510 p ${BSE}/bin/audit_srv6.2
sh_server s 0 0 s ${BSE}/bin/sh_server6.2
fs6.2 s 303 335 m ${BSE}/bin/fs6.2
nserver s 0 0 s ${BSE}/bin/nserver6.2
informix s 305 350 p ${BSE}/bin/inf_srv6.2
oracle7 s 302 320 p ${BSE}/bin/ora7_srv6.2
oracle8 s 302 320 p ${BSE}/bin/ora8_srv6.2
sybase s 309 390 p ${BSE}/bin/syb_srv6.2
db2 s 310 301 p ${BSE}/bin/db2_srv6.2
bshellxma s 0 0 p ${BSE}/bin/bshellxma6.2
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

3. Another thing is when this ttdsk... error occurs, it does not generate any logs; like log.bshell, log.oracle etc.

4. Can anyone tell me how to set debugging options of bshell ? There is one environment BDB_DEBUG, whose value I have set in bw config as BDB_DEBUG=77777. But, it does not generate any log.

5. In $BSE/lib/ora/oracle_home, ora_update has created a file "Version" whose contents are "8.0.6.3.0" and the same contents are displayed in DBSLOG after the upgrade.
We use Oracle 8.0.5. Not sure, how 8.0.6.3.0 has been detected and what is the meaning of "oracle client version" in DBSLOG.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
text.write does not return new text number ahulikavi Tools Development 10 4th September 2017 11:03
porting set 7.1d.01 trchandra Tools Development 3 7th April 2003 08:37
STPAPI - problem due to porting set Smiffy AFS/DDC/OLE: Function servers 3 2nd December 2002 17:49
Detected database server termination (help! aide! ayuda! hilfe! ayuto! hellup! •‚¯!)! Francesco Operating Systems & Databases 15 20th July 2002 11:37


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:46.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com