Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Administration & Installation

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
35%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
42%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
19%
Total votes: 31

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th August 2001, 13:43
h3nry_99's Avatar
h3nry_99 h3nry_99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 42
h3nry_99 is on a distinguished road
Error 510 when create new user

Hi,

I use Baan IVC4 with NT Enterprise 4.0 and SQL Server 7.0. I already create baan user "baan " ; database "baandb" with database user "baan ". Today I want to create 2 more baan user "ptc" and "isc" with same baan database dan same database user. I already create all by the book, and link it to existing, but I can login with two new login. The message is "510 error database not on". Can someone helpme ?

Thanks,



__________________
Henry
  #2  
Old 28th August 2001, 13:53
victor_cleto's Avatar
victor_cleto victor_cleto is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Portugal
Posts: 776
victor_cleto is on a distinguished road
Baan: none (B40c4 was last) - DB: Oracle - OS: Linux (RHEL)
Database not on

Error 510 generally means database not on, but it appears associated to other errors. Do you have other errors before that 510 or just after that 510 error?
Is your database up and running fine?
  #3  
Old 29th August 2001, 03:43
h3nry_99's Avatar
h3nry_99 h3nry_99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 42
h3nry_99 is on a distinguished road
step that I use

Thanks for reply,

Maybe I must explain about my problem in detail, so you can help me more precisely. We already have Baan user "baan" with Database user "baan" and database group "baandb". It is work, mean we can login to Baan with this baan user and no error.
For practice purpose, we want to create another 2 baan user which are "ptc" and "isc". We want these new 2 baan user connect to database user "baan " and database group "baandb".
So we create in Maintain User data; go to Maintain Link Between Baan user dan database user (Some step convert dan dumb, just write on the book/instruction). After that we saw in session Maintain link Baan user & Database user, 3 of baan user which are : "baan" (the first one) and "ptc" & "isc" (2 new baan user) connect with database user "baan" and database group "baandb". When we want to login to Baan use both "ptc" or "isc" the error message pop up. It say "Error 510 (Database not on) on select - can not continue in ottstpstdlib (mess).
If we use "baan" for login to Baan there no error like that.

I hope you can help me after read this message,

Thanks,
__________________
Henry
  #4  
Old 29th August 2001, 10:57
Ravenscross's Avatar
Ravenscross Ravenscross is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 318
Ravenscross is on a distinguished road
Baan: Lots of different versions - DB: Most of them - OS: Almost all of them
A few more steps

Have you dumped the new users to the database? Have you set up permissions for these users?
__________________
Christopher Cross

"Grace is there for only one reason, to fall from"
  #5  
Old 29th August 2001, 12:17
vishbaan's Avatar
vishbaan vishbaan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dubai
Posts: 207
vishbaan is on a distinguished road
Baan: B40c4, LN - DB: SQL2K - OS: W2K
Error 510

You may check out
- there may be two databases "001" & "002" as installed.
- link baan users to db user you have to do for both "001" & "002"
- dump users for both "001" & "002"

may help

Vish
Sponsored Links
  #6  
Old 29th August 2001, 12:54
Ravenscross's Avatar
Ravenscross Ravenscross is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 318
Ravenscross is on a distinguished road
Baan: Lots of different versions - DB: Most of them - OS: Almost all of them
True but

It is normal for there to be 2 installed however normally one is for auditing reasons
__________________
Christopher Cross

"Grace is there for only one reason, to fall from"
  #7  
Old 30th August 2001, 12:47
h3nry_99's Avatar
h3nry_99 h3nry_99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 42
h3nry_99 is on a distinguished road
administrator add

Today, I add user isc and ptc that already built with administrator access in NT Server. The result is that both isc and ptc can be use to login to Baan. So I think the procedure that I allready done for create isc and ptc and link it are right. But the problem are not solve with this action, because we want to create other users and we don't want to give administrator right to all user. Any suggestion, how to do that ?

Thanks
__________________
Henry
  #8  
Old 30th August 2001, 13:07
Ravenscross's Avatar
Ravenscross Ravenscross is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 318
Ravenscross is on a distinguished road
Baan: Lots of different versions - DB: Most of them - OS: Almost all of them
This sounds more like a database problem than Baan. If I get this right, you have set up these users as admins in NT and they can now log in, so all admins at an NT level can login but others cannot.. Is this right?
__________________
Christopher Cross

"Grace is there for only one reason, to fall from"
  #9  
Old 31st August 2001, 02:57
h3nry_99's Avatar
h3nry_99 h3nry_99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 42
h3nry_99 is on a distinguished road
You right

Yes, if the NT user is administrator, the Baan user that I create have no error like 510 error. So which part must I setup to fix it ??
__________________
Henry
  #10  
Old 31st August 2001, 08:32
Han Brinkman's Avatar
Han Brinkman Han Brinkman is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,155
Han Brinkman has a spectacular aura aboutHan Brinkman has a spectacular aura about
Baan: All - DB: Oracle/ms-sql/db2 - OS: *nix/windows
You should give the users the policy to be able to start a process on the server. It's not necessary to give them admin rights but because admin has these rights it works.
  #11  
Old 4th September 2001, 04:02
h3nry_99's Avatar
h3nry_99 h3nry_99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 42
h3nry_99 is on a distinguished road
who have a clue

I am busy lately, so I am sorry for that. By the way, can someone give the clue what I should do next, for give the right to user (What right ?) beside give administrator right.

One more thing,

When I use new user and want to change company, the Baan don't allow this because I can't change the VRC. When I want to do that from session, there are password must be filled. I try all password that I have, but still can't enter the session. Where should I request for that password ( because as I remember, I never change any password )

Thanks
__________________
Henry
  #12  
Old 24th November 2001, 02:41
h3nry_99's Avatar
h3nry_99 h3nry_99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 42
h3nry_99 is on a distinguished road
Thanks for all, close thread

Thanks for all help for my problem. The problem is allready solve, when we check in the NT license. Someone forget to input how many user are allow in per server license.

I want to close this thread but can't do it. Can the administrator told me how to close it or close for me .......please..

Regards,
__________________
Henry
  #13  
Old 24th November 2001, 14:25
patvdv's Avatar
patvdv patvdv is offline
Board Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,167
patvdv is on a distinguished road
Baan: n/a - DB: n/a - OS: AIX, HP-UX, Linux
Rights

Hi Henry,

You should be able to close your own thread now. Please try again. There was a small glitch in the user permissions
__________________
Regards,

Patrick Van der Veken - Admin & Founder - (c) 2001-2017 baanboard.com/baanforums.com
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to create baan user ?? hendra Tools Administration & Installation 11 16th December 2005 10:38
BaaN V create user Alick Wilson Tools Administration & Installation 1 2nd August 2004 20:56
Zoom Session for selection bklunder Tools Development 1 27th November 2003 07:25
Named User License....unable to create Senthil Open World, Portal & Decision Manager 0 3rd September 2003 14:20
while running Create Runtime DD. must be other user logout bumerang Tools Administration & Installation 1 9th July 2002 13:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:51.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com