Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Administration & Installation

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
How big is your Baan-DB (just Data AND Indexes)
0 - 200 GB
18%
200 - 500 GB
29%
500 - 800 GB
3%
800 - 1200 GB
8%
1200 - 1500 GB
8%
1500 - 2000 GB
13%
> 2000 GB
24%
Total votes: 80

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th July 2019, 16:49
florian.battke florian.battke is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 10
florian.battke is on a distinguished road
Baan: 61a9 - DB: oracle - OS: suse linux 11
Reconfigure Tables has no effect
Baan: ERP LN 6.1
DB: Other/Unknown
OS: Linux - Other
C/S: None/Unknown

Dear all,

I hope someone can help me with this as I really am stuck now. This is something I have done multiple times with no problems, and now I cannot get it to work any more:

Setup:
I have two companies, 300="b61a9dev" and 100="b61a9tes".

== What works ==
I have added a new field "fbtest" to table tdsls400 in company 300. I convert to runtime, reconfigure tables. In my oracle server, I can query the field e.g. by,
SELECT t$test FROM baan.ttdsls400300;
In the data dictionary, I can see the changes in
/Infor/ERPLN/bse/dict/ddb61a9dev/dtdsls400 (e.g. the line ":NAME:tdsls400.fbtest").
All is well.

== What does not work ==
Now I do the exact same thing on the other company:
I add the new field "fbtest" to table tdsls400 in company 100. I convert to runtime, reconfigure tables. I notice that the usual messages "Reconfiguring tables" and "Repairing referential integrity" do not appear, the process is finished instantly.
The field is not visible in the oracle db:
SELECT t$test FROM baan.ttdsls400100; --fails on unknown column.
The data dict file (/Infor/ERPLN/bse/dict/ddb61a9tes/dtdsls400) is untouched.

I have tried adding fields to other tables in company 100, that works.
I have tried adding fields to other tables in other companies, that works.
I have tried adding the field in tdsls400, company 100 with differing name, domain, label. None of that works.
I have tried the reconfigure tables command focused only on my table, on the whole package, on the whole VRC, with and without reconfigure tables, nothing works.
I have removed and added the field to the table multiple times. Doesn't work.

I have checked the log files. No mention of my table in any of them, specifically not in log.reconfig.

I have checked table ttadv502000 and can see that after adding my field it contains an entry (b61a9tes,2,tdsls400,0,0) which disappears when I reconfigure tables despite nothing happening to either table or dictionary.

I have recreated the complete data dictionary for that company, no result. However, then log.reconfig says "tdsls400100 C0 0 No reconfiguration is needed".


Any hints on what is wrong with my system or where to look further will be greatly appreciated!

Florian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd July 2019, 06:39
NPRao's Avatar
NPRao NPRao is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Posts: 3,113
NPRao will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4-5,5.2(Reger),LN-6.1,Infor LN-10.x - DB: Oracle,MS-SQL - OS: HPUX, Linux, Windows
Quote:
I have added a new field "fbtest" to table tdsls400 in company 300.
Quote:
I add the new field "fbtest" to table tdsls400 in company 100.
It is not clear how can/did you add a new field to a company? You have to add a field to the table in the VRC that is linked to the Package Combinations (b61a9dev and b61a9tes) and then execute the run-time sessions (ttadv5210m000, ttadv5215m000) for the Package Combination(s) so the Data Dictionary files to be regenerated and the new fields to be applied to the Database.

Refer to - Companies and Users

Version Management

so you can have some clear understanding of the concept of the Package VRC's, Package Combinations and Companies.
__________________
The art of perfection does not lie in doing extraordinary things but, doing ordinary things extraordinarily well. [-N. Prashanth Rao]
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way,BaaNBoard,NPRao
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd July 2019, 08:59
florian.battke florian.battke is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 10
florian.battke is on a distinguished road
Baan: 61a9 - DB: oracle - OS: suse linux 11
Dear NPRao,

Thank you for trying to help and sorry if my wording was unclear. I understand about VRC, that is not my problem. I was using the company numbers in the text because of the more obvious link to the database table names (that have the company number as suffix as in tdsls400100 / tdsls400300). I mentioned the VRC for those companies in the intro.

And I know how to regenerate Data Dict or apply field to the database - as you can see from the fact that I did it successfully in the Package Combination b61a9dev, and from my statement that I did it successfully on other tables in b61a9tes.

My problem is that it does not work for _one specific table_ in a _single VRC_.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd July 2019, 11:12
Ajesh's Avatar
Ajesh Ajesh is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 648
Ajesh is on a distinguished road
Baan: LN 10.4 - DB: Oracle - OS: HP-Unix
Okay lets go step by step.

After adding the field in tdsls400 Table in Company 100, you did crdd,
What did the log log.ottadv5215 say?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd July 2019, 14:55
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 7,386
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
One of the things we ran into was the data dictionary files out on the servers had the wrong permissions.
__________________
Mark

GO Cards!
My latest mantra - make sure you have latest stpapi patches and the latest session object. If on LN then please explore the option of using DAL2 functionality.

Shared Solutions for Baan systems provided free by Baan Board.
Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #6  
Old 22nd July 2019, 15:41
florian.battke florian.battke is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 10
florian.battke is on a distinguished road
Baan: 61a9 - DB: oracle - OS: suse linux 11
Dear Ajesh, mark_h,

Thank you both for helping me with this!

I have tried again, doing these steps:
- Opened the table tdsls400 in ttadv4520m100 (Tools/App.Dev/Domains&Tables), - Added new field "fbtest", domain tc.ynna, default tcynna.no, no label.
- Convert to Runtime DD (+Reconfigure Tables, +Runtime Directories) in Session ttadv5215m000 over the whole of b61a9tes, all packages, all tables. Process prints no errors and finishes in <1 second, no messages shown.

The log directory does NOT contain a logfile log.ottadv5215!


I was also suspecting the permissions, but couldn't find anything wrong. Here's the two relevant files for tdsls400 in the two VRCs:
-rw-rw---- 1 bsp app_ERP 11649 19. Jul 15:20 ddb61a9dev/dtdsls/dtdsls400
-rw-rw---- 1 bsp app_ERP 11649 19. Jul 14:55 ddb61a9tes/dtdsls/dtdsls400
Both files are the same size because I removed the extra field in ddb61a9dev (company 300) after my test.

And here are the folder permissions:
drwxrws--x 2 bsp app_ERP 16384 19. Jul 15:28 ddb61a9dev/dtdsls
drwxrws--x 2 bsp app_ERP 16384 19. Jul 15:29 ddb61a9tes/dtdsls
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd July 2019, 16:05
florian.battke florian.battke is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 10
florian.battke is on a distinguished road
Baan: 61a9 - DB: oracle - OS: suse linux 11
I have just run a complete rebuild of the dictionary (ttadv5210m000, +Check before create runt.) over b61a9tes and checked log.reconfig.

It says:
2017-09-22[12:17:44(UTC-02:00)]:bsp: Bdbreconfig check started by session ttadv5210m000 and pacc b61a9tes
2017-09-22[12:17:44(UTC-02:00)]:bsp: Bdbreconfig check, companies found to check:
2017-09-22[12:17:44(UTC-02:00)]:bsp: 100 102 200 201 202 203 204 205 400
2017-09-22[12:17:52(UTC-02:00)]:bsp: >>Start bdbreconfig check results:
...
2017-09-22[12:17:53(UTC-02:00)]:bsp: tdsls400100 C0 0 No reconfiguration is required

Then I ran the same session, limited to package "td", but with "Check before creating runt." unchecked.
This noew recreated the dict in dict/ddb61a9tes/dtdsls/dtdsls400, but the new field is still NOT present there, and in the oracle db the column has not been created.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd July 2019, 16:06
florian.battke florian.battke is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 10
florian.battke is on a distinguished road
Baan: 61a9 - DB: oracle - OS: suse linux 11
Dear Ajesh, mark_h,

Thank you both for helping me with this!

I have tried again, doing these steps:
- Opened the table tdsls400 in ttadv4520m100 (Tools/App.Dev/Domains&Tables), - Added new field "fbtest", domain tc.ynna, default tcynna.no, no label.
- Convert to Runtime DD (+Reconfigure Tables, +Runtime Directories) in Session ttadv5215m000 over the whole of b61a9tes, all packages, all tables. Process prints no errors and finishes in <1 second, no messages shown.

The log directory does NOT contain a logfile log.ottadv5215!


I was also suspecting the permissions, but couldn't find anything wrong. Here's the two relevant files for tdsls400 in the two VRCs:
-rw-rw---- 1 bsp app_ERP 11649 19. Jul 15:20 ddb61a9dev/dtdsls/dtdsls400
-rw-rw---- 1 bsp app_ERP 11649 19. Jul 14:55 ddb61a9tes/dtdsls/dtdsls400
Both files are the same size because I removed the extra field in ddb61a9dev (company 300) after my test.

And here are the folder permissions:
drwxrws--x 2 bsp app_ERP 16384 19. Jul 15:28 ddb61a9dev/dtdsls
drwxrws--x 2 bsp app_ERP 16384 19. Jul 15:29 ddb61a9tes/dtdsls
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22nd July 2019, 16:33
Ajesh's Avatar
Ajesh Ajesh is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 648
Ajesh is on a distinguished road
Baan: LN 10.4 - DB: Oracle - OS: HP-Unix
You can find the log by running "ttstperrlog" session from run Program. After that you need to select the specific log, as shown in the attached File.


Next , What is happening in the Runtime file in the OS?

In the ddb61a9tes/dtdsls/dtdsls400 file? Did you find your specific field "fbtest" in this file ?
Attached Images
File Type: png ErrorLog.PNG (44.9 KB, 4 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd July 2019, 16:58
florian.battke florian.battke is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 10
florian.battke is on a distinguished road
Baan: 61a9 - DB: oracle - OS: suse linux 11
Hi Ajesh,

thanks for asking.

I was looking for the log in the file system, where it wasn't. Checking in Session ttstperrlog: There is also no entry for log.ottadv5215.

The ddb61a9tes/dtdsls/dtdsls400 file is UNCHANGED, it does NOT contain my field "fbtest".
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 22nd July 2019, 18:05
Ajesh's Avatar
Ajesh Ajesh is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 648
Ajesh is on a distinguished road
Baan: LN 10.4 - DB: Oracle - OS: HP-Unix
Ask all users or disconnect all users from the system and then run create runtime for the whole package combination. I think because of the users being active on the system might be an issue. It happened in my case once.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22nd July 2019, 18:21
florian.battke florian.battke is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 10
florian.battke is on a distinguished road
Baan: 61a9 - DB: oracle - OS: suse linux 11
Hi Ajesh, thanks for the tip.
I will try that. Though I am pretty sure nobody was connected when I tried it the last 15 times...
Will let you know as soon as I have results.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 22nd July 2019, 23:35
mark_h's Avatar
mark_h mark_h is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 7,386
mark_h will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4C4 A&D1 - DB: Oracle - OS: Sun Solaris
Ajesh - do you remember which tools tables that might need to be cleaned out for convert to runtime on tables? It seems to be we used to have an issue with that - we would have to clean out a table, then rerun convert to runtime to get it to work. Wondering if that might be an issue.
__________________
Mark

GO Cards!
My latest mantra - make sure you have latest stpapi patches and the latest session object. If on LN then please explore the option of using DAL2 functionality.

Shared Solutions for Baan systems provided free by Baan Board.
Play the Google game and help Baanboard get better rankings. Do your part. Click here to find how.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 23rd July 2019, 10:44
Ajesh's Avatar
Ajesh Ajesh is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 648
Ajesh is on a distinguished road
Baan: LN 10.4 - DB: Oracle - OS: HP-Unix
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_h View Post
Ajesh - do you remember which tools tables that might need to be cleaned out for convert to runtime on tables? It seems to be we used to have an issue with that - we would have to clean out a table, then rerun convert to runtime to get it to work. Wondering if that might be an issue.

Hi Mark

Its ttadv502(Tools company) for Table Def/Domains.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 23rd July 2019, 18:18
florian.battke florian.battke is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 10
florian.battke is on a distinguished road
Baan: 61a9 - DB: oracle - OS: suse linux 11
Hi Ajesh,
even with nobody logged in, the problem remains the same.

I had already checked ttadv502. It does contain some rows for package combination b61au, but these I dare not touch. Please see my initial post where I have mentioned what happens to ttadv502 when I try to add the field.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reconfigure list of tables jclju1 Tools Administration & Installation 1 12th June 2013 20:56
How can i see who started a reconfigure tables Roel de Vries Blogs and Web links 1 27th March 2013 12:45
Reconfigure tables... KhRamil Tools Administration & Installation 2 25th November 2004 11:54
reconfigure tables maxwell Tools Administration & Installation 5 18th December 2003 06:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:00.


©2001-2018 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com