Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Development

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Google search


Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
37%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
37%
Manual into existing VRC
5%
Manual into new VRC
21%
Total votes: 43

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 6th April 2015, 09:12
david7 david7 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 115
david7 is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IV, V, LN6 - DB: sql - OS: Windows XP
Hi guys,

I am still struggling with start.application.local. I could not find a way to do it from Baan tools. I have thought of lots of other ways out side of Baan, but is there a chance that Infor will make a similar function to work in HTML UI? Or is there a hidden function that I missed?!

~ D7
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 8th April 2015, 08:37
george7a's Avatar
george7a george7a is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Nazareth
Posts: 1,491
george7a is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc, 5.0 b, 5.0 c, LN 6.1 - DB: MS SQL, Oracle - OS: Windows 2000, 2003 & UNIX
David,

It seems the documentation does not specify any function that does what start.application.local do. I second Uli`s suggestion:
Quote:
Originally Posted by ulrich.fuchs View Post
Correct, there is no direct way supported to start an application on the client. That's really a bad lack of functionality in HTMLUI compared to the "old" interfaces, since this functionality is used by many Infor customers for various integration scenarios. I can only urge every customer to file incidents with Infor on that subject, so that they have the pressure to fix it.
Uli
Although, I am doubtful that it can be done without installing a program on the client. If this is the solution (installing a program on the client), we can program it ourselves!
__________________
_
George Abdo
NAZDAQ - Your Documents, Your Way.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 14th May 2018, 17:30
benito's Avatar
benito benito is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 519
benito is on a distinguished road
Baan: LN 10.2.1 / LN 10.5 / BaanIVc4 - DB: Oracle11/Informix - OS: Unix/Linux
I have a problem with this command. If I make the destination as $BSE\tmp it gives me a warning that it is a directory and doesn't do anything then freezes. If I make it "", then it gives me the proper dialogue where I can pick the file from my client for uploading but then I lose backend connection (severe error!). I tried it also with just the filename as the argument. What is the proper way to use this command?

function long client.upload.file (string destination [, ref string client.filename] [, ref string mime.type])

Quote:
Originally Posted by sachinbaan View Post
Hi,

Try this, for ming.le

Code:
if tc.is.html.ui() then
		client.download.file(Filename)
endif

Last edited by benito : 14th May 2018 at 22:30.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #19  
Old 15th May 2018, 07:43
andreas.toepper andreas.toepper is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 141
andreas.toepper is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan4, LN6.1 - DB: MSSQL - OS: Linux&Windows
Client.upload.file() and Client,download.file() will transfer one single file to or from the Server. Be aware that your LN user will need to have access rights on the file. The LN user may be the single sign on user used defined in ttams0100m000 if you are using SSO (I'm not quite sure, but better check it anyway).

Here the way I did downloading a file in a session script:

Code:
	|Download file in LNUI.
 	if tc.is.html.ui() then
 	  ret = client.download.file(source.path, "TEXT", "p" & ttadv230.cmod(1;3)
	                                               & strip$(ttadv230.cprs) & "0"
	                                               & ".bc")  
	  if ret <> 0 then 
	  	  message("error: %d", ret)
	  endif
 	else
   	message("Download von " & source.path & " in LNUI")
 	endif
Parameters are:
- source file name (name of file on server; needs the path in the filename as far as I can tell)
- mime.type (optional)
- target file name (optional; name of file on client; I'm using it without any given path, so it's file name only)

I've also used uploading in a session I migrated from FP8+:

Code:
	tmp.file = bse.tmp.dir$()&"/importlist.txt"
	if tc.is.html.ui() then           |AT#05.sn
		client.upload.file(tmp.file, filepath)
	else                              |AT#05.en
	  client2server(filepath, tmp.file, true, false, false)
	endif                             |AT#05.n
Here filepath is a field on the mask, where you need to enter the source filename (it's the name of the file on the client). Well, that's the definition given in the programmers guide, I didn't use this functionality. If filepath is empty LNUI will show a little dialog where you can search or enter a filename (that's what I'm using right now).

Last edited by andreas.toepper : 15th May 2018 at 09:05.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 15th May 2018, 15:08
benito's Avatar
benito benito is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 519
benito is on a distinguished road
Baan: LN 10.2.1 / LN 10.5 / BaanIVc4 - DB: Oracle11/Informix - OS: Unix/Linux
THANKS A TON Andreas!!! That certainly worked.

client.upload.file(tmp.file, file)

From my debugging:
- tmp.file is the temp file that will be created in the remote server directory. This is the file that you need to READ later. For example: $BSE_TMP & "/readme.txt"

- file is the name of the file that you're going to pick from the dialogue box. The dialogue box will appear, you search your file from the client, once you double click , it will pick the name of the file and assign it to "file". In programmer's guide it's a call by Reference (REF).
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 15th May 2018, 15:22
andreas.toepper andreas.toepper is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 141
andreas.toepper is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan4, LN6.1 - DB: MSSQL - OS: Linux&Windows
Quote:
Originally Posted by benito View Post
In programmer's guide it's a call by Reference (REF).
Thank you! I missed that one. It's good to know it works this way.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
start.function is not working in WebUI pramod Tools Development 7 3rd February 2014 21:55


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:34.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com