Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan SIGs > Archiving & Multisite

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Google search


Poll
How big is your Baan-DB (just Data AND Indexes)
0 - 200 GB
0%
200 - 500 GB
25%
500 - 800 GB
0%
800 - 1200 GB
0%
1200 - 1500 GB
0%
1500 - 2000 GB
75%
> 2000 GB
0%
Total votes: 4

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th October 2014, 09:15
Gregory@2014 Gregory@2014 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 16
Gregory@2014 is on a distinguished road
Baan: BAAN IV - DB: IOS - OS: Windows
Maintain First Free Number

Hi

We use BAAN IV and are experiencing a problem where one of our series are constantly full. We archive on a regular basis and when we 'Maintain First Free Number" for the particular series, BAAN does not seem to release the archived number in the live company.

Any suggestions?

Greg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th October 2014, 14:15
benito's Avatar
benito benito is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 520
benito is on a distinguished road
Baan: LN 10.2.1 / LN 10.5 / BaanIVc4 - DB: Oracle11/Informix - OS: Unix/Linux
Did you try setting Blocked for Input to Yes?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st October 2014, 09:14
Gregory@2014 Gregory@2014 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 16
Gregory@2014 is on a distinguished road
Baan: BAAN IV - DB: IOS - OS: Windows
Benito

How will this help?

See attached for our current set up. I am trying to free up the 6 series as the other series are dedicated to something else.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Doc1.pdf (140.7 KB, 37 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st October 2014, 11:36
vamsi_gujjula's Avatar
vamsi_gujjula vamsi_gujjula is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: hyderabad ; india
Posts: 240
vamsi_gujjula is on a distinguished road
Baan: ERPLN fp3 and 10.4 - DB: oracle - OS: Aix , Redhat linux 6
since this is post on first free .. i wanted to extend it to .... resolve my doubt too..

tcmcs.dll0050.check.and.generate.order.number Vs tcmcs.dll0050.read.and.update.first.free.number


What is the diff between these 2 dlls ?? when to use which one and what is this cache functionality


IS it like one updates the first free no. other updates as well commits the first free no??
__________________
Regards,
Vamsi
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st October 2014, 12:12
vamsi_gujjula's Avatar
vamsi_gujjula vamsi_gujjula is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: hyderabad ; india
Posts: 240
vamsi_gujjula is on a distinguished road
Baan: ERPLN fp3 and 10.4 - DB: oracle - OS: Aix , Redhat linux 6
Never mind:

To improve the performance of sessions in which new order numbers are assigned, you can define a cache size for a series. The cache size is the number of new series numbers that ERP LN generates at once. If there are series numbers in cache, users do not have to wait while ERP LN generates and checks the next series numbers.
Allowed values
Cache size = 0

No caching is applied. If you request a new number, the number is only committed after the transaction to which the number applies is completed.
Disadvantage: The number series is locked during the transaction. Other users cannot request a new number from the same series until the transaction is completed.
Advantage: No numbering gaps.
Use a cache size of 0 if number gaps are not allowed. Preferably, request a new number close to the end of a transation to reduce locking time. In high volume implementations, a cache size of 0 may cause performance and locking issues.
Cache size = 1

If you request a new number, the number is committed immediately, even if the transaction to which the number applies is not yet completed.
Disadvantage: Numbering gaps may occur if a transaction is not finished.
Advantage: The number series is locked for only a short time, which improves performance.
A cache size of 1 is the default value for number series. In this way, performance and locking issues in high volume implementations are avoided as much as possible.
Cache size > 1

The value of the cache size indicates how many new numbers are requested at once. The numbers are committed immediately, even if transactions are not yet completed.
Disadvantage: Large numbering gaps may occur if more than one transaction is unfinished.
Advantage: The number series is locked for only a short time. Furthermore, for all numbers that are requested, the number series needs to be updated only once, which improves performance.
A cache size larger than 1 is only recommended if a cache size of 1 does not solve locking issues sufficiently.
__________________
Regards,
Vamsi
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st October 2014, 14:10
benito's Avatar
benito benito is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 520
benito is on a distinguished road
Baan: LN 10.2.1 / LN 10.5 / BaanIVc4 - DB: Oracle11/Informix - OS: Unix/Linux
gregory, nope it won't help. misunderstood...but...once you have archived, what happens if you reset the number in series 6?

vamsi, he's on baaniv. the dlls don't exist and their is no field for cache.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #7  
Old 22nd October 2014, 09:09
Gregory@2014 Gregory@2014 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 16
Gregory@2014 is on a distinguished road
Baan: BAAN IV - DB: IOS - OS: Windows
Hi Benito

From what I gathered, we got someone in to set up a second archive company which we use at the moment. It looks like once we used a number in the live company and archive it, it is not available for use again (in the live company).
The reason why we archive is so that the numbers is available to use again as we place hundreds of orders per day and our series becomes full quickly.

Also, when you archive once and the series becomes full abd you archive again - does it over ride the existing info in the archive company? (if the same number that you are archiving already exisits in the archive company)

Regards
Greg
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd October 2014, 15:03
benito's Avatar
benito benito is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 520
benito is on a distinguished road
Baan: LN 10.2.1 / LN 10.5 / BaanIVc4 - DB: Oracle11/Informix - OS: Unix/Linux
are you getting an error? i checked my old notes in IVc and didn't seem to have that issue. can you try querying your table tisfc001, max.pdno = select max(t_pdno). then you can manually set your first free number to max.pdno + 1.

yes it will override the existing info in the archive company. that's the reason why it's a good idea to create a new backup company for each year. bottomline it depends on your company's archiving strategy.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23rd October 2014, 08:00
Gregory@2014 Gregory@2014 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 16
Gregory@2014 is on a distinguished road
Baan: BAAN IV - DB: IOS - OS: Windows
I will try that and let you know

Thanks for help

Greg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Retrieve data from tdinv750 Drikus70 Operating Systems & Databases 2 9th September 2009 09:23
first free number alexlow Tools Development 2 14th September 2008 18:48
Audit file structure baan_user Tools Development 8 4th May 2007 14:32
Finding Next Available First Free Number kclewley Archiving & Multisite 4 27th May 2005 13:48
How do you get the next free number ltannous Tools Administration & Installation 1 24th January 2003 23:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:28.


©2001-2018 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com