Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan SIGs > Third Party Products

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
When will you move your ERP to the cloud?
We are on the cloud already!
20%
Next year
8%
from 2-3 years
8%
from 4-5 years
16%
Never!
48%
Total votes: 50

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th December 2015, 11:45
kseeks kseeks is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4
kseeks is on a distinguished road
Baan: LN FP2 - DB: Informix - OS: Linux
IWM(Barcode) scanner hanging

Dear Friends,

Hope someone is using IWM(barcode) system and scanners with Infor LN.

Issue is that, some times the scanners are not getting connected(hanging), ( not even getting the login page/window on scanner).

To solve the issue we changed the IP's and Device name of the scanners in admin page(adcadmin) then the scanner are getting connected.

This is a recurring issue, not sure if it's related to network or IWM.

Appreciate your inputs and steps to troubleshoot the issue.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th March 2017, 10:26
kernschrott kernschrott is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
kernschrott is on a distinguished road
Baan: LN 10.3 - DB: Oracle - OS: Linux
Hi,

we use IWM. We don't have such problems.

Please check the following:
After connect to Terminal with Scanner, whats happen? Do you get a "DEVICE:" message?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st March 2017, 12:31
oirfeodent's Avatar
oirfeodent oirfeodent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 39
oirfeodent is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan - DB: DB - OS: OS
Quote:
Originally Posted by kseeks View Post
Dear Friends,

Hope someone is using IWM(barcode) system and scanners with Infor LN.

Issue is that, some times the scanners are not getting connected(hanging), ( not even getting the login page/window on scanner).

To solve the issue we changed the IP's and Device name of the scanners in admin page(adcadmin) then the scanner are getting connected.

This is a recurring issue, not sure if it's related to network or IWM.

Appreciate your inputs and steps to troubleshoot the issue.

Thanks.
How do you use IWM... with Openworld or Webservice for communicating with baan?
if it is with OpenWorld, the scanners might get hung due to fatal error as there is no refresh mechanism unless ASM is used. In such case, look for the error logs and solve one by one.
Webservice has a auto restart mechanism... However, if error occurs it will still be in hung status until restart happens.

Regards,
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 22nd March 2017, 08:54
kernschrott kernschrott is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
kernschrott is on a distinguished road
Baan: LN 10.3 - DB: Oracle - OS: Linux
Quote:
with Openworld or Webservice for communicating with baan?
Can you please explain to me what is the difference here?

Quote:
Webservice has a auto restart mechanism
Where can i find this?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd March 2017, 05:12
oirfeodent's Avatar
oirfeodent oirfeodent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 39
oirfeodent is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan - DB: DB - OS: OS
Quote:
Originally Posted by kernschrott View Post
Can you please explain to me what is the difference here?
To my understanding, if you are on LN10.4+ the default communication method is webservice, but it can be configured to use tmboaserver. less than LN10.3 default is tmboaserver, but it can be configured to use Webservice. So, it depends on how the installation was configured.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kernschrott View Post
Where can i find this?
If you are using webservice these settings would be available on the C4WS (Connector for Webservice) server or WSTK (Webserver Tool Kit) server.

If you dont have details about any of the above webservice servers, then the system should be running based on OpenWorld (tmboaserver). You can directly start looking at $BSE/log/log.* for fatal errors and start solving one by one. Specifically look for fatal errors which are caused by the userID which was used to start the tmboaservers.

Regards,
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scanner with telnet Ivanus Tools Administration & Installation 3 17th December 2015 12:18
Auto tab after scanning barcode from a Intermec CK31 RF scanner? balaprasadt Tools Development 5 14th July 2010 04:46
How to talk to a scanner ankybanky Tools Development 8 5th July 2005 15:07
strange hanging problem with C interface francishsu Tools Development 0 29th July 2002 15:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:07.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com