Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Administration & Installation

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Google search


Poll
How big is your Baan-DB (just Data AND Indexes)
0 - 200 GB
17%
200 - 500 GB
17%
500 - 800 GB
6%
800 - 1200 GB
6%
1200 - 1500 GB
17%
1500 - 2000 GB
17%
> 2000 GB
22%
Total votes: 18

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th September 2002, 08:08
pinakin pinakin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 24
pinakin is on a distinguished road
Baan: baanIV - DB: RDBMS - OS: unix, NT
Post Running sessions thru job

Hi All,

I am using Jobs to automate some process without any problem. But now I want to something like the perticular job should take some parameter and based on the parametes the assigned process to the job should be executed.

for example: In the The session Process Delivered Sales Order(tdsls4223m000) hte uset has be give a date. I want to automate this session using job, but I want the system should take the system date as 'Delete up to (Date)'.

If anyone can know I would like to know how the system/Job/assigned session to a job will take parametes before executing the assigned process.


Please let me know.


Best regards


Pinakin
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th September 2002, 08:24
NPRao's Avatar
NPRao NPRao is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Posts: 3,066
NPRao will become famous soon enough
Baan: Baan 4-5,5.2(Reger),LN-6.1,Infor LN-10.x - DB: Oracle,MS-SQL - OS: HPUX, Linux, Windows
Pinakin,

I think your current situation is good enough and you might be asking for more complexity when you think of simplifiying with having your own job controller.

But here's an idea anyways. You can create a session with 3-GL script, which can take arguments.

The arguments can be read based on the tools functions -
get.argc(), string get.string.arg( long arg_no ) and long get.long.arg( long arg_no ) etc.

Then the program invokes the $BSE/bin/bshell6.2 or ba6.2 (your baan versions) with the appropriate jobid/jobname, user, company, package combination etc.

You might try it out and post your results here.

Good Luck!
__________________
The art of perfection does not lie in doing extraordinary things but, doing ordinary things extraordinarily well. [-N. Prashanth Rao]
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way,BaaNBoard,NPRao
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th September 2002, 09:05
Darren Phillips's Avatar
Darren Phillips Darren Phillips is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: west wales, UK
Posts: 334
Darren Phillips is on a distinguished road
Baan: IV4c4 SCH1 SP14 /AGS2 - DB: SQL7/sql2000/Oracle 9 - OS: NT4 Enterprise / win2000/3
when you use the make job option from the session it asks you if it should consider the difference between entered date and system date ?. if answer yes then the dates will be incrementated each time it runs.

Another option would be to create a function server.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Job Daemon Hanging / Using crontab to run sessions from command line? rmarles Tools Administration & Installation 21 6th June 2018 13:47
Problem running query in a queued job evesely Tools Administration & Installation 4 10th September 2004 22:33
AFS - problem running session in a job aobrien AFS/DDC/OLE: Function servers 15 2nd April 2004 14:51
Inquiry on running jobs using job daemon and rc.startjob julia0726 Tools Administration & Installation 1 12th February 2002 09:00


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:18.


©2001-2018 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com