Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Administration & Installation

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
38%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
41%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
19%
Total votes: 37

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st December 2003, 07:53
forsms2002's Avatar
forsms2002 forsms2002 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 47
forsms2002 is on a distinguished road
Baan: 4c4 - DB: Oracle 8i - OS: Windows 2000
change package combination

i was doing "change package combination" from a PC client. There was a network problem while the process was still on. even after the network breakdown, i saw at the log.reconfig and it is still changing. After the current table is done Will this continue till last or will I have to do the "Change package combination" again?

if it breaks in between can i use command line bdbreconfig ? what would be the syntax? also, does anybody has any idea if the reconfig is the last step in the "change package combination" or is it something else also?

it has been running for quite sometime so i dont want to restart the process.

Also to bypass n/w problems, can i execute the "Change Package Combination" from Ux box after starting baan via ba6.1 (the classical old baan screens!!) instead of GUI interface?

Can anybody through some light please? its a baanc4/Unix/Informix scenario.


Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd December 2003, 18:51
pconde pconde is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 162
pconde is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaanIVc4, BaanERP 5.0, ERP LN6.1 - DB: Oracle, informix, DB400 - OS: unix, As400, windows 2003
Hello,

Sure you can use ba6.1 from the unix console.

I'm not sur 100% about this but the session change package combination by company use bdbreconfig6.1.
you can see usage with the command bdbreconfig6.1 -U

Now what he is doing internally in this session I don't know
but to use bdbdreconfig6.1 you must have a dictionnary that contains the old and the new definition
Ex : dtccom001 and dtccom001.new
the bdbreconfig use these to find if there are any difference and if yes do the reconfig.

So I suppose tha the session do the following
a) copy new definitions in the current dictionnary with the name = d<table>.new
b) run bdbreconfig with a command like this :
bdbreconfig -p <package> -t <table> -e <errorfile> -m -n -C <company number>
c) when all files processed remove the .new file and change company package combination
d) repair reference counter is then needed.

Look in the log files ($BSE/log) for a file log.bdbreconfig to see how far the reconfiguration has gone. If it is not done to the end you can try to end it manually via bdbreconfig6.1 but this can need many time. I suggest that you restore the tables and restart the session .
If needed clean the dictionnary for the *.new files

Regards
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
change package comb by company mprakash Tools Administration & Installation 1 24th August 2004 10:12
Change Company by package combination Nancy Mathew Tools Administration & Installation 1 5th August 2004 09:00
Question on Package Combination and VRCs manusatsangi Tools Administration & Installation 1 24th February 2003 12:22


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:46.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com