Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan SIGs > Performance & Tuning

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
37%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
39%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
21%
Total votes: 38

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th July 2015, 12:55
darkhorse darkhorse is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 13
darkhorse is on a distinguished road
Baan: FP3,FP6,FP8 - DB: DB2,SQL - OS: UNIX
Is hint Ineffective on DB2
Baan: ERP LN 6.1 FP6
DB: DB2 7 FP6
OS: Other/Unknown
C/S: None/Unknown

Hi Every one ,
I was encountering a performance issue when opening a session.
I took CGP of that particular session in order to find out the root cause.

In that, I found one Query taking most of the time in which Index Hint was being used since secondary index were used.

I wonder on SQL server that query works fine with hint reducing the time.

Thus I wanted to have clearer view on does Hint effective depends on SQL Server, DB2 etc.


Waiting for your all valuable suggestion.
__________________
To be successful, the first thing to do is fall in love with your work.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th August 2015, 14:50
darkhorse darkhorse is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 13
darkhorse is on a distinguished road
Baan: FP3,FP6,FP8 - DB: DB2,SQL - OS: UNIX
Hi,
Any Advice/Idea on this Issue.

Thanks in advance
__________________
To be successful, the first thing to do is fall in love with your work.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #3  
Old 17th August 2015, 15:05
pillai.ganesh's Avatar
pillai.ganesh pillai.ganesh is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Arab Emirates
Posts: 105
pillai.ganesh is on a distinguished road
Baan: ERP LN 6.1 - DB: Oracle, SQL, Informix - OS: Windows
Hi,

The Hint Clause is a code processed by baan bshell so it is independent of the backend database. Weather your database is Oracle, SQL Server or DB2 the hint clause will work the same.
It is basically to tweak the evaluation plan generated by the query processor, to execute the query.
Hope this helps.

Thanks,
Ganesh
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hint "with(nolock)" on selects zymmon Tools Administration & Installation 1 16th September 2014 16:48
Hint nolocks en select zymmon Forum español 2 15th September 2014 19:11
Help regarding tools session rahul.kolhe22 Tools Development 4 22nd January 2010 14:31
Upgrading from DB2 v7 to DB2 v8 amac14 Tools Administration & Installation 0 25th February 2004 00:01
How to prevent passing of hints generated by Oracle Driver ? baaniac Performance & Tuning 6 24th May 2002 12:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:07.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com