Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Operating Systems & Databases

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
How big is your Baan-DB (just Data AND Indexes)
0 - 200 GB
19%
200 - 500 GB
28%
500 - 800 GB
2%
800 - 1200 GB
7%
1200 - 1500 GB
7%
1500 - 2000 GB
12%
> 2000 GB
24%
Total votes: 83

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th July 2007, 16:00
steventay steventay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 173
steventay is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IVC4 SP10 - DB: SQL 2005 SP2 - OS: Windows 2003 SP2
Move existing BaanIV on Windows NT to new hardware
Baan: Other/Unknown
DB: Other/Unknown
OS: Windows NT
C/S: Server

hi,

i am new in Baan and i will be going to migrate the existing BannIV to a new server.

Currently it is running Windows NT with Informix...

What are the path for me to move to the new hardware, the new hardware might not able to support Windows NT.

OS...Windows 2000 / 2003
DB....???

please help.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th July 2007, 10:54
sukesh75's Avatar
sukesh75 sukesh75 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,031
sukesh75 is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan 4c, Infor LN 10.4 - DB: Oracle 12c, SQL Server 2000, 2008, 2012 - OS: RHEL 6, Windows 2003, 2008
Hi Steven,
DB: You could go in for Oracle or MS SQl Server i.e if you want to move from Informix.
OS: Go for Windows 2003 as MS is going to pull the support plug off 2000.
Baan Media: I don think you could use the same Master CD that you used to install on NT and so you would have to get the latest one with the correct porting set from Infor..

hth..
Sk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th July 2007, 17:36
steventay steventay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 173
steventay is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IVC4 SP10 - DB: SQL 2005 SP2 - OS: Windows 2003 SP2
hi,

thank for your reply.

so i can use just Windows 2003 Stardard..

Oracle or MS SQl Server is quite ex is it...

for MS SQL, can use the standard version.... also i see that in forum mention it does has have 2 layel...

can Informix work in Windows 2003?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th July 2007, 10:56
sukesh75's Avatar
sukesh75 sukesh75 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,031
sukesh75 is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan 4c, Infor LN 10.4 - DB: Oracle 12c, SQL Server 2000, 2008, 2012 - OS: RHEL 6, Windows 2003, 2008
Hi Steven,
Yes Informix can work on Windows 2003. You would have to check on if older versions are supported or not but i guess ver. 9.4 or 10 is supported based on Baan documentation...

sk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd August 2007, 17:54
steventay steventay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 173
steventay is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IVC4 SP10 - DB: SQL 2005 SP2 - OS: Windows 2003 SP2
so i have to either purchase upgrade version of informix or purchase sql...

if i want to use SQL, can i support 2000 or 2005 version?

how can i do the migration from informix to SQL?

do i need Windows 2003 Standard or Enterprise version?

for SQL - Standard or Enterprise version?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th August 2007, 11:55
sukesh75's Avatar
sukesh75 sukesh75 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,031
sukesh75 is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan 4c, Infor LN 10.4 - DB: Oracle 12c, SQL Server 2000, 2008, 2012 - OS: RHEL 6, Windows 2003, 2008
Steve,
Baan works on both SQL2000 and 2005. You just need to get the appropriate Porting set for either.
As with all the other databases, i am sure there would be a migration tool from Informix to SQL. You would have to check on the Microsoft site for this.
If you are not looking at clustering or sql replication and things like that, you could go in for the standard edition of both windows and sql...

sk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th August 2007, 16:13
steventay steventay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 173
steventay is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IVC4 SP10 - DB: SQL 2005 SP2 - OS: Windows 2003 SP2
so is there Porting set for Baan IV running SQL 2005?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th August 2007, 16:19
sukesh75's Avatar
sukesh75 sukesh75 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,031
sukesh75 is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan 4c, Infor LN 10.4 - DB: Oracle 12c, SQL Server 2000, 2008, 2012 - OS: RHEL 6, Windows 2003, 2008
Yes there is. In order to use SQL2005 as the backend you would need to have porting set 6.1c.07.13 installed.

sk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th August 2007, 13:48
steventay steventay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 173
steventay is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IVC4 SP10 - DB: SQL 2005 SP2 - OS: Windows 2003 SP2
can it support mysql?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #10  
Old 8th August 2007, 11:14
amoshammer's Avatar
amoshammer amoshammer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austria
Posts: 18
amoshammer is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc4 - DB: Informix - OS: WIN NT 4
Thumbs up New Hardware and Vmware

Hey,

You can use your Baan Installation on new Hardware with VMWARE Server.
Make P2V with Vmware Tools.
You need no money for DB and OS updates/upgrades.

The best VMware server is Freeware. (and runs on Linux)
+ There are much more benefits.....

I use this with live Baan systems IV / win nt / Informix 7
------------
Andreas
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 8th August 2007, 11:29
steventay steventay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 173
steventay is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IVC4 SP10 - DB: SQL 2005 SP2 - OS: Windows 2003 SP2
so you are running it as geust in vmware on a new hardware?

i have tested the P2V on a WinNT Server to a Vmware Infrastructure 3 Standard (ESX not free) and a VMWare Server (free) ...

i can boot up with the CD and do P2V... but can i do from V2P?

the P2V CD require at least 256MB RAM to bootup.

if i use the Vmware guest, how can i handle the backup for the database...

how is the vmware server running on Linux.. i test only run on top of Windows Server. which version of linux you use? cause if want on run Linux on a real server with Raid require the Linux Enterprise product like Red Hat Enterprise...

Last edited by steventay : 8th August 2007 at 11:35.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 9th August 2007, 14:59
steventay steventay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 173
steventay is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IVC4 SP10 - DB: SQL 2005 SP2 - OS: Windows 2003 SP2
Andreas, how do you handle the backup for the data if you are using a vmware guest....
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 9th August 2007, 19:22
amoshammer's Avatar
amoshammer amoshammer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austria
Posts: 18
amoshammer is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc4 - DB: Informix - OS: WIN NT 4
Smile

You can stop the virtual machine or make snapschot. (online / offline)
You need only to COPY the Files. (tape or Network share)

That`s it.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 31st October 2007, 17:00
steventay steventay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 173
steventay is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IVC4 SP10 - DB: SQL 2005 SP2 - OS: Windows 2003 SP2
anyway i have found solution for it and it is working fine now...

i will be moving to the new server soon...

snapshot is not really good as it increase the vmware file size..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programming Question mr_suleyman Tools Development 37 11th November 2016 09:14
Open World Adapter for BaaNIV kaukul Open World, Portal & Decision Manager 3 22nd July 2010 04:03
Windows printing Baan V ERP bwprint garias Tools Administration & Installation 8 16th January 2006 16:48
If you currenty use a Windows operating system for Baan, which Windows OS do you use? terryw Polls and Surveys 3 12th July 2005 05:27


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:24.


©2001-2018 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com