Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Development

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Google search


Poll
How big is your Baan-DB (just Data AND Indexes)
0 - 200 GB
15%
200 - 500 GB
30%
500 - 800 GB
4%
800 - 1200 GB
4%
1200 - 1500 GB
11%
1500 - 2000 GB
15%
> 2000 GB
22%
Total votes: 27

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th October 2015, 19:28
BaBernd BaBernd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 139
BaBernd is on a distinguished road
Baan: Infor 10.2.1 - DB: SQL-Server 2012 - OS: Windows Server 2008
text fields in Infor reporting vs. SSRS / BIDS
Baan: Infor10 ERP
C/S: Client

Hello to All,

I've a Problem with printing text fields (for example tcibd001.txta) in SSRS / BIDS.
The value for tcibd001.txta is defined as text field in the table tcibd001 and the value itself is a number. Somehow this number references to a text in the table tttxt002.

In Infor reporting it is very easy, one have only to enter this field tcibd001.txta as Report field. During execution of the Report the result is the corresponding / related text in the Report.

In SSRS / BIDS it's not the same.
When I enter the field as Report field and afterwards execute the Report, then I only get the number itself as result and no text.

Now my question:
how can I get the text for this number out of the table tttxt002. Cause there I've no full Access. Or the text is also not shown in full size. Here (in the data base table) I only see the last line of a Long text with more than one line (row).

Best Regards
Bernd

Last edited by BaBernd : 20th October 2015 at 19:30. Reason: additional text in bracketts
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th October 2015, 21:28
bhushanchanda's Avatar
bhushanchanda bhushanchanda is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: India
Posts: 2,356
bhushanchanda has a spectacular aura aboutbhushanchanda has a spectacular aura aboutbhushanchanda has a spectacular aura about
Baan: LN FP 1-9, 10.4, a little bit of Baan IV - DB: SQL Server 2008, Oracle - OS: Windows Server 2008 R2, Unix
Hi,

As the guide tells -


To use data fields of type Text in a report:
1. Open a report and click the design tab.
2. Right-click anywhere on the design tab, but outside of any control.
3. Select Report Properties....
4. Select the References page.
5. If needed, add a reference to the Infor.ReportingServices.LNDataExtension.dll assembly.
6. In the Report Properties dialog box, select the Code page.
7. Specify this custom code:

Quote:
Function tt_getText(field as Field) as String
return
Infor.ReportingServices.Utilities.LNUtils.getTextFieldValue(field.Value, _ field("language"), _ field("company"), _ Report.Parameters!ConnectionString.Value)
End Function
Or use Report Configurator to do the above.

8. Click OK to close the Report Properties dialog box.
9. Drag a data field of type Text to the report.
10. Right-click the newly created text field.
11. Select Expression....
12. Enter this expression with the real text field in it, for example:
Code.tt_getText(Fields!your_text_field)
Note: You must pass the field object, not the value property.
13. Click OK to close the Expression dialog box.
14. To show the text field content, save and run the report.

Note - If the LN session report uses the lattr.textexpand option, you cannot use this text expression.Therefore, you must use the Value property of the text field, for example, =Fields!your_text_field.Value
__________________
Regards,

Bhushan

Unless you try to do something beyond what you have already mastered, you will never grow!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st October 2015, 09:50
BaBernd BaBernd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 139
BaBernd is on a distinguished road
Baan: Infor 10.2.1 - DB: SQL-Server 2012 - OS: Windows Server 2008
Hi Bhushan,

that's great! It's exactly what I want.
As everytime: very helpful hints :-)

Best Regards
Bernd
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st October 2015, 10:23
JaapJD's Avatar
JaapJD JaapJD is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 800
JaapJD will become famous soon enoughJaapJD will become famous soon enough
Baan: BaanIV, BaanERP, ERP LN 6.1 - DB: Oracle, SQL Server - OS: Unix, Windows
I don't understand this:
Quote:
In Infor reporting it is very easy, one have only to enter this field tcibd001.txta as Report field. During execution of the Report the result is the corresponding / related text in the Report.
Infor Reporting also prints the text number if you just enter the text field as report field. The developer guide for the Infor Reporting Connector says:
Code:
tt_getText(ParamDisplayValue('datafile'), [your_query].[your_text_field])
Actually there is no functional difference between Infor Reporting and SSRS/BIDS regarding text fields. Only the syntax of the expression is different.

However, note the note in Bhushan's post. In case of lattr.textexpand (the classic report processor substitutes placeholders in the texts by the actual values), the complete text comes as a string. Then you need to print the value instead of using the tt_getText function.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st October 2015, 11:12
bhushanchanda's Avatar
bhushanchanda bhushanchanda is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: India
Posts: 2,356
bhushanchanda has a spectacular aura aboutbhushanchanda has a spectacular aura aboutbhushanchanda has a spectacular aura about
Baan: LN FP 1-9, 10.4, a little bit of Baan IV - DB: SQL Server 2008, Oracle - OS: Windows Server 2008 R2, Unix
Jaap, I guess by Infor Reporting he meant Baan/Infor Classical Report Designer where you can simply add the text field in the layout with width 80 and it prints the text without any additional coding.
__________________
Regards,

Bhushan

Unless you try to do something beyond what you have already mastered, you will never grow!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #6  
Old 21st October 2015, 11:31
JaapJD's Avatar
JaapJD JaapJD is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 800
JaapJD will become famous soon enoughJaapJD will become famous soon enough
Baan: BaanIV, BaanERP, ERP LN 6.1 - DB: Oracle, SQL Server - OS: Unix, Windows
Hi Bhushan, you are probably right. I prefer to speak about LN classic or native reporting for those reports :-).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st October 2015, 15:50
benito's Avatar
benito benito is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 520
benito is on a distinguished road
Baan: LN 10.2.1 / LN 10.5 / BaanIVc4 - DB: Oracle11/Informix - OS: Unix/Linux
Smile

wow! i was misled too since i have used Infor Reporting and SSRS myself. i'm glad bushan is quick to decipher things
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st October 2015, 15:58
bhushanchanda's Avatar
bhushanchanda bhushanchanda is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: India
Posts: 2,356
bhushanchanda has a spectacular aura aboutbhushanchanda has a spectacular aura aboutbhushanchanda has a spectacular aura about
Baan: LN FP 1-9, 10.4, a little bit of Baan IV - DB: SQL Server 2008, Oracle - OS: Windows Server 2008 R2, Unix
Haha Probably, I am low on SSRS and other External Reporting these days.
__________________
Regards,

Bhushan

Unless you try to do something beyond what you have already mastered, you will never grow!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th October 2018, 09:22
shambhavi shambhavi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 20
shambhavi is on a distinguished road
Baan: LN 10.4 - DB: SQL - OS: Linux
Showing as #Error in preview

Hi,

I tried the same but it showing as error in preview.

Regards,
Shambhavi



Quote:
Originally Posted by bhushanchanda View Post
Hi,

As the guide tells -


To use data fields of type Text in a report:
1. Open a report and click the design tab.
2. Right-click anywhere on the design tab, but outside of any control.
3. Select Report Properties....
4. Select the References page.
5. If needed, add a reference to the Infor.ReportingServices.LNDataExtension.dll assembly.
6. In the Report Properties dialog box, select the Code page.
7. Specify this custom code:



Or use Report Configurator to do the above.

8. Click OK to close the Report Properties dialog box.
9. Drag a data field of type Text to the report.
10. Right-click the newly created text field.
11. Select Expression....
12. Enter this expression with the real text field in it, for example:
Code.tt_getText(Fields!your_text_field)
Note: You must pass the field object, not the value property.
13. Click OK to close the Expression dialog box.
14. To show the text field content, save and run the report.

Note - If the LN session report uses the lattr.textexpand option, you cannot use this text expression.Therefore, you must use the Value property of the text field, for example, =Fields!your_text_field.Value
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programming Question mr_suleyman Tools Development 37 11th November 2016 09:14
Report Fields in LN are not displaying in SSRS report. nitin.rajput Third Party Products 0 25th September 2015 15:31
Copy text between companies en@frrom Tools Development 5 17th August 2010 05:09


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:30.


©2001-2018 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com