User login
|
|
Frontpage Sponsor
|
|
Poll
|
What do you expect from your SI Implementation partner for the success of ERP implementation. Bring best practices - Not to offer more CR's Leveraging standard functions 20% Need more honesty to work with the Users until their processes are fully mapped & Users are trained 40% Focus on process automation/ integrations/ Real time data/ BI analytics 20% Stick to basics 20% Total votes: 10 |
Baanboard at LinkedIn
|

|
|
|
 |

31st August 2022, 16:58
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 30
|
|
Baan: 4.c.4 -
DB: informix -
OS: unix
|
Tables extract from LN CE with ION
Hi ,
I'm using Infor LN CE and I want to see if it possible from ION to schedule an extract on a daily basis of any table (all fields or specific fields) in csv format. Can we use File Connection point ? We have to define File template format.
I want to improve the way we can extract data directly from database other than creating LN session/script to generate flat file.
Thanks in advance
|

1st September 2022, 08:55
|
Guru
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 529
|
|
Baan: Baan IV upto LN -
DB: -- -
OS: --
|
HI This is not supported. One option is the one you mentioned, by creating a LN session generating a file. The other option is to use Data Lake. LN publishes data to DL.and with data lake tools you can extract the data to a local database.
|

1st September 2022, 14:08
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 30
|
|
Baan: 4.c.4 -
DB: informix -
OS: unix
|
For the Data Lake option , I have all records published from LN for table tcibd001 into Data Lake and I can verify the total line count when I Run Query in Data Lake/Compass for JSON object LN_tcibd001.
Form there can I extract to a csv file with an execution set up on daily basis ? Or I need to extract the data to a local database and then built a query to generate csv file ?
thanks
|

5th September 2022, 12:33
|
Guru
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 529
|
|
Baan: Baan IV upto LN -
DB: -- -
OS: --
|
HI, There is an DataLake API which can be used to retrieve data out of DL. Secondly there is a tool, DataLake ETL Tool, or something like that. This tool needs configuration of course, but will synchronize data from DL to an on prem database.
|

6th September 2022, 20:04
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 30
|
|
Baan: 4.c.4 -
DB: informix -
OS: unix
|
Thanks for the reply , I will look for the best option
|

8th September 2022, 15:43
|
 |
Guru
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,311
|
|
Baan: Infor LN 6.1 10.2.1 > 10.7 -
DB: MS SQL2017 -
OS: VM WindowsServer2016
|
There is yet another option I suppose, A number of tables do have a BDE available where you can send a LIST or SHOW command with a specific filter to get data from LN on demand.
You will need a deployed C4WS tomcat instance and deployed BDE. It is also possible to develop your own BDE in LN Studio.
In an Interface project you can import any LN table and generate a default implementation and definition. Compile, check-in, deploy and you can request all fields in the table.
__________________
Also read Luke 24:4-8
After that you can find many answers on Infor, LN, BaanIV, BaanV, InforLN and ION and even some questions asked here on baanboard.com
|

8th September 2022, 16:24
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 30
|
|
Baan: 4.c.4 -
DB: informix -
OS: unix
|
Can you give more details when you say
" In an Interface project you can import any LN table and generate a default implementation and definition. Compile, check-in, deploy and you can request all fields in the table."
Where can you define an Interface project ? directly in LN Studio?
|

8th September 2022, 17:03
|
 |
Guru
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,311
|
|
Baan: Infor LN 6.1 10.2.1 > 10.7 -
DB: MS SQL2017 -
OS: VM WindowsServer2016
|
Yes, Check the documentation https://docs.infor.com/ln/2022.x/en-...267817978.html
In the Studio select the Integration Perspective, then Import Table. https://docs.infor.com/ln/2022.x/en-...267819601.html
It will import the table and the used domains. Then on the table select "Create Default Definition and Implementation" It will create a fully functional BDE for you.
Before you can compile you will need to set the identifier, then your BDE can be compiled and deployed...
__________________
Also read Luke 24:4-8
After that you can find many answers on Infor, LN, BaanIV, BaanV, InforLN and ION and even some questions asked here on baanboard.com
|

8th September 2022, 17:26
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 30
|
|
Baan: 4.c.4 -
DB: informix -
OS: unix
|
thanks a lot , I will try
|

8th September 2022, 17:44
|
Guru
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 529
|
|
Baan: Baan IV upto LN -
DB: -- -
OS: --
|
A BDE can indeed be used. Please note that it is not always possible to retrieve a delta, changed since the previous extraction.
|

19th September 2022, 12:49
|
 |
Guru
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,311
|
|
Baan: Infor LN 6.1 10.2.1 > 10.7 -
DB: MS SQL2017 -
OS: VM WindowsServer2016
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARijke
A BDE can indeed be used. Please note that it is not always possible to retrieve a delta, changed since the previous extraction.
|
What we usually do in that case is also create a BOD for the same table and create an extension on the table in which all (or relevant) fields of the table are declared as keep.<fld> variables.
And we need
Code:
#pragma used dll "otcextbodapi"
table ttdcom902
domain tcmcs.s999m ErrorSituation
domain tcmcs.long ErrorID
domain tcmcs.str12 keep.keyf | Key Field
In the functions section we use:
Code:
function keep.some()
{ keep.keyf = tdcom902.keyf | Key Field
keep.<...> = tdcom902.<...>
}
function boolean some.change()
{ return(not( keep.keyf = tdcom902.keyf and
keep.<...> = tdcom902.<...>))
}
Then in the Before Save hook:
Code:
function extern long before.save.object(long mode)
{ with.old.object.values.do(keep.some)
return (0)
}
In the After.Save we trigger the BOD:
Code:
function extern long after.save.object(long mode)
{
| hook code
if some.change() then
if mode = DAL_NEW then
return(bod.publish("OwnBOD", "tdcom902", "Add", 0,
"", tdcom902.keyf, "OnlyPublish",
ErrorSituation, ErrorID, tdcom902.keyf))
endif
return(bod.publish("OwnBOD", "tdcom902", "Change", 0,
"", tdcom902.keyf, "OnlyPublish",
ErrorSituation, ErrorID, tdcom902.keyf))
endif
}
So we only get a BOD when the relevant fields are changed and that BOD can be used to "know" the "delta".
__________________
Also read Luke 24:4-8
After that you can find many answers on Infor, LN, BaanIV, BaanV, InforLN and ION and even some questions asked here on baanboard.com
|

19th September 2022, 21:30
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 30
|
|
Baan: 4.c.4 -
DB: informix -
OS: unix
|
Thanks , I will do a try
|

8th March 2023, 01:18
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: NO
Posts: 274
|
|
Baan: LN10.7 -
DB: Many -
OS: MSW
|
very interesting
very interesting. I want to create a BOD for a master table (for which no standard BOD exist). Please direct me to any existing thread if any. This way any change can trigger a sync out. My environment is LN CE
Thanks
__________________
Knowledge is experience, everything else is just information. - A. Einstein
|

21st March 2023, 10:25
|
 |
Guru
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,311
|
|
Baan: Infor LN 6.1 10.2.1 > 10.7 -
DB: MS SQL2017 -
OS: VM WindowsServer2016
|
Bde - Bod
What I did several times:
After creating the "default definition and implementation" do delete the implementation, go to the definition, change the type from BDE into BOD and save.
In Studio you will notice the options in the definition will change into BOD specifics, like methods etc.
Model what you want to achieve (or nothing except for the mandatory methods for output - and input - of data). List and Show events will be the most important I assume.
Then generate the implementation, choose an identifier for your BOD and Generate the interface DLLs and you are done.
Congratulations, you created your first BOD.
__________________
Also read Luke 24:4-8
After that you can find many answers on Infor, LN, BaanIV, BaanV, InforLN and ION and even some questions asked here on baanboard.com
|

11th April 2023, 15:29
|
 |
Guru
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,311
|
|
Baan: Infor LN 6.1 10.2.1 > 10.7 -
DB: MS SQL2017 -
OS: VM WindowsServer2016
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renegade
very interesting. I want to create a BOD for a master table (for which no standard BOD exist). Please direct me to any existing thread if any. This way any change can trigger a sync out. My environment is LN CE
Thanks
|
Did you manage?
__________________
Also read Luke 24:4-8
After that you can find many answers on Infor, LN, BaanIV, BaanV, InforLN and ION and even some questions asked here on baanboard.com
|
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
Display Modes |
Hybrid Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|