Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Distribution, Transportation & Warehousing

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Google search


Poll
How big is your Baan-DB (just Data AND Indexes)
0 - 200 GB
17%
200 - 500 GB
17%
500 - 800 GB
6%
800 - 1200 GB
6%
1200 - 1500 GB
17%
1500 - 2000 GB
17%
> 2000 GB
22%
Total votes: 18

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th July 2005, 20:33
blanchap's Avatar
blanchap blanchap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Montreal, Qc, Canada
Posts: 132
blanchap is on a distinguished road
Baan: BaanIV c4 - DB: Oracle 10g - OS: HP-UX 11.23
Question sales order line tax vs sales order header tax

Hi,

i need to verify something regarding the tax field on the sales order header and tax field on the sales order lines.

I have a sales order for customer A (where customer has tax field to yes in customer master but tax code is OUT 0%), and i have a line in that sales order for item B (where tax field is at 7% in item master).

When i print the invoice, i'm charging a tax of 7%. If my customer is set to 0% tax, shouldn't the invoice also be at 0% even if the line is getting the item tax by default?

Regards

PB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th July 2005, 01:21
tjbyfield's Avatar
tjbyfield tjbyfield is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 356
tjbyfield is on a distinguished road
Baan: baan4c4 - DB: oracle 805 - OS: AIX 4.3.3
Quote:
Originally Posted by blanchap
...When i print the invoice, i'm charging a tax of 7%. If my customer is set to 0% tax, shouldn't the invoice also be at 0% even if the line is getting the item tax by default?...
There are several different "tax" approaches and localisations to cater for the many different tax requirements around the world. We use vanilla BaanIVc4 with the standard vat capability. With this version (yours sounds if it it uses the same fileds and logic) the tax field in the cistomer master is used only for default in the sales header. This field can then be changed to either yes or no and then this is used to determine whether to get the item tax code for inclusion in the sales detail record. (on one order some items may be taxable and others not depending in tax laws in the particular country)

In other words it is the tax code in the sales detail record that determines whether tax is charged on a particular line item or not and at what rate.

Terry

(bon jour monsieur : Montreal is a wonderful city, I lived in St Laurent for 3 of my best years late 1960's)

Last edited by tjbyfield : 20th July 2005 at 01:31.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sales Order Lines manasrpadhi AFS/DDC/OLE: Function servers 2 21st September 2011 13:11
Calculating Sales Tax on a Sales Order tnzabo Distribution, Transportation & Warehousing 1 27th May 2005 04:29
Extension to sales order header being updatesd thru AFS or update table will work darpan Tools Development 4 16th April 2005 09:16
Sales order through AFS Debdas Banerjee AFS/DDC/OLE: Function servers 1 4th November 2004 16:39
Adding a line to a Sales Order. wricks Tools Development 8 7th February 2003 03:44


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:47.


©2001-2018 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com