Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Administration & Installation

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
41%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
29%
Manual into existing VRC
6%
Manual into new VRC
24%
Total votes: 17

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st October 2003, 23:22
Francesco's Avatar
Francesco Francesco is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Antwerp, BE
Posts: 727
Francesco is on a distinguished road
Baan: 5b - DB: Oracle - OS: Solaris
Scm

I am playing around a bit with SCM. Had some problems turning it on (wrong diff version), but now that everything seems to be up, are there any pittfalls I should think off?

What do I set BAAN_SCM_GRP to? (or what is common there?)

In ttadv1115m000 (Directories of Software Components), only the Forms path was changed.
Is this a bug? Do I fill in the other ones manually?

Do I have to convert to runtime after this?

Questions, questions.....and as always no documentation

Anyway, we didn't have a good SCM thread yet far as I could tell.
__________________
Cheers,

Francesco
..............................................................

Admiral Business Solutions | My World | Baan Board | IT Happens!

"If everyone is thinking alike, then somebody isn't thinking" -- George Patton
"It's easy to cry 'bug' when the truth is that you've got a complex system and sometimes it takes a while to get all the components to co-exist peacefully." -- Doug Vargas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd October 2003, 00:27
NPRao's Avatar
NPRao NPRao is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Posts: 3,026
NPRao will become famous soon enough
Baan: iBaanERP-5.2a(Reger),SSA-ERP-LN-6.1,Infor LN-10.x - DB: Oracle-10g,11g,12c,MS-SQL - OS: HP-UX, Linux, Windows
Francesco,

Here are my observations-

I found 2 diff's on our Unix system. One from my unix profile path and another from the baan ksh path. I verified that they were both same file size, located in /usr/bin/diff and /bin/diff. You can check using - $ which diff
Quote:
What do I set BAAN_SCM_GRP to? (or what is common there?)
You do not need to set it to anything. Bshell automatically picks it based on the current login unless you specify it to something or override when using it in the BW configuration file.
Quote:
In ttadv1115m000 (Directories of Software Components), only the Forms path was changed.
Looks like a bug. It has to be set for all the other components.
Quote:
Do I have to convert to runtime after this?
Yes from the specific menu. Usually this is done during the VRC/package combination creations.
Quote:
Questions, questions.....and as always no documentation
I believe there is some documentation in the BaaN Administration manual.
Quote:
Anyway, we didn't have a good SCM thread yet far as I could tell.
That is because most of the BaaN customers are on the BaaN-4 series, and SCM is available in the BaaN-5+ versions and only on Unix based platforms.
__________________
The art of perfection does not lie in doing extraordinary things but, doing ordinary things extraordinarily well. [-N. Prashanth Rao]
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way,BaaNBoard,NPRao
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #3  
Old 22nd October 2003, 16:22
Francesco's Avatar
Francesco Francesco is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Antwerp, BE
Posts: 727
Francesco is on a distinguished road
Baan: 5b - DB: Oracle - OS: Solaris
On the diff thing

Apparently, Baan uses GNU diff and GNU diff only.
I was using whatever diff ships with Solaris, and received error msgs that --a was not a valid option.

By the way, when I log into Baan, there is no value set for BAAN_SCM_GRP. What is it automatically supposed to pick, and where does it pick it from?

Quote:
That is because most of the BaaN customers are on the BaaN-4 series, and SCM is available in the BaaN-5+ versions and only on Unix based platforms.
Aren't we the high rollers
__________________
Cheers,

Francesco
..............................................................

Admiral Business Solutions | My World | Baan Board | IT Happens!

"If everyone is thinking alike, then somebody isn't thinking" -- George Patton
"It's easy to cry 'bug' when the truth is that you've got a complex system and sometimes it takes a while to get all the components to co-exist peacefully." -- Doug Vargas
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd October 2003, 18:43
NPRao's Avatar
NPRao NPRao is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Posts: 3,026
NPRao will become famous soon enough
Baan: iBaanERP-5.2a(Reger),SSA-ERP-LN-6.1,Infor LN-10.x - DB: Oracle-10g,11g,12c,MS-SQL - OS: HP-UX, Linux, Windows
Francesco,
Quote:
Apparently, Baan uses GNU diff and GNU diff only.
I am not sure myself... because there is 1 BaaN delivered binary in $BSE/bin/diff6.2
Quote:
By the way, when I log into Baan, there is no value set for BAAN_SCM_GRP. What is it automatically supposed to pick, and where does it pick it from?
You can see the value of that variable, when you use !ksh -v on the start program then $ env | grep BAAN_SCM_GRP
You can only the effect of that variable when you use the SCM checkin/out functionality and then looking at the $BSE/application/<userid>/package-checkout-package-vrc directories.
__________________
The art of perfection does not lie in doing extraordinary things but, doing ordinary things extraordinarily well. [-N. Prashanth Rao]
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way,BaaNBoard,NPRao
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd October 2003, 19:10
Francesco's Avatar
Francesco Francesco is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Antwerp, BE
Posts: 727
Francesco is on a distinguished road
Baan: 5b - DB: Oracle - OS: Solaris
My bad

BAAN_SCM_GRP is indeed set automagically. Must start wearing my contacts again.
Apparently it picks up the login name of the user.

As far as the diff version goes, I have confirmation from Baan that SCM specifically uses the GNU variant, found in the diffutils package http://www.gnu.org/software/diffutils/diffutils.html

I believe the same is true for RCS. I had to re-install that as well, but then I am not sure if the version we did have came from Sun or not.
http://www.gnu.org/software/rcs/rcs.html
__________________
Cheers,

Francesco
..............................................................

Admiral Business Solutions | My World | Baan Board | IT Happens!

"If everyone is thinking alike, then somebody isn't thinking" -- George Patton
"It's easy to cry 'bug' when the truth is that you've got a complex system and sometimes it takes a while to get all the components to co-exist peacefully." -- Doug Vargas
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SCM over ERP jksandy08 General Discussion & Chat 7 4th January 2005 15:14
SCM (Revision Text) rmenon Tools Administration & Installation 1 13th July 2004 19:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:55.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com