Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan SIGs > Archiving & Multisite

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Google search


Poll
How big is your Baan-DB (just Data AND Indexes)
0 - 200 GB
18%
200 - 500 GB
26%
500 - 800 GB
3%
800 - 1200 GB
9%
1200 - 1500 GB
12%
1500 - 2000 GB
12%
> 2000 GB
21%
Total votes: 34

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th December 2001, 08:26
zaidlaz zaidlaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Singapore - been there done that?
Posts: 49
zaidlaz is on a distinguished road
Baan: B4C4 SP14 - DB: Oracle 9.2.0.4 - OS: Windows Adv Server SP4
Question Baan Archiving

Dear All,

Has anyone tried Baan Archiving b4?
It would be great if you share your experience with us.
Thank You.


Best Wishes,
Zaid
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th December 2001, 22:59
sturla's Avatar
sturla sturla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norway
Posts: 65
sturla is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IV -
Archiving b4

Hi,

I have never tried it, but we started an archiving project at a b4 installation September 2000, and during the project pre-study we decided to migrate to c4 before archiving.
The reason was that Baan couldn't give us any references on archiving with b4, and they also adviced us to migrate before archiving.
We set up the archive company after the migration, and we didn't have any problems at all. We followed the standard procedure from Baan, described in a White Paper called "Baan IV Archiving".

Regards
Sturla
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th January 2002, 13:58
zaidlaz zaidlaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Singapore - been there done that?
Posts: 49
zaidlaz is on a distinguished road
Baan: B4C4 SP14 - DB: Oracle 9.2.0.4 - OS: Windows Adv Server SP4
Question Archiving in B4c4

I am currently trying out B4C4 archiving. Our Baan is with SP4. The required patches for Baan Archiving showed solutions links to SP6. Due to the seriousness (data integrity related) of the patches I think I have to perform a service pack upgrade (from SP4 - SP6) prior to Baan archiving. My question is :-
1) Is SP upgrade necessary if one have only SP4 in order to do B4c4 archiving?
2) How stable is SP6?

I hope someone have answers to this qustions . Thank you.



Best Wishes,
Zaid
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th January 2002, 16:00
sturla's Avatar
sturla sturla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norway
Posts: 65
sturla is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IV -
Uppgrade from SP4 to SP6

Hi,

I will advice you to uppgrade to SP6 before you start your archiving project. I can't tell you why, I'm just refering advices given by Baan.
I have done an archiving project on SP6, and we didn't have any problems at all.
My knowledge regarding SP6 is from Norwegian Baan customers, and I do think that most of them have done an uppgrade to SP6, and they are pleased with it.
One and a half year ago I did a migration project from IVb to IVc, and the plan was to install SP4. We did, tested and decided to go for SP5 (that was a misstake) because of to many bugs in SP4. At last, we ended at SP6, and it worked exelent.
My advice is:
1) Install SP6,
2) Archive

Best Regards

Sturla
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Baan Archiving lsatenstein Tools Administration & Installation 1 24th August 2004 08:36
archiving with Baan V spartacus Operating Systems & Databases 2 30th October 2003 16:48
Baan on Oracle Guru for Hire Will travel OracleBaanGuru Jobs and Resumes 1 19th June 2002 16:57


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:50.


©2001-2018 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com