Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan Quick Support: Functional & Technical > Tools Administration & Installation

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
37%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
39%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
21%
Total votes: 38

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th August 2017, 11:52
jclju1's Avatar
jclju1 jclju1 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 555
jclju1 is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IV, Baan 5.0c, SSA ERP LN 6.1 - DB: bisam, Oracle, Informix, Sql Server - OS: Unix (all), Windows
Baan IV and Infor LN on the same Windows server
Baan: Other/Unknown
DB: Other/Unknown
OS: Other/Unknown
C/S: None/Unknown

Hello all,

we are planning to move Baan IV and Infor LN from Linux/oracle into Win /SQL environment. The plan is that we will have only one server for both applications. In the past, I already did it and there were no problems. But because of new OS and databese version I have to install Baan IV using portingset from Infor LN. So, my question is: isi it possible to have Baan IV and Infor LN ond the same Windows server, both applications use Infor LN portingest? Of course, applications will be on different folders (C:\baan, C:\infor), but I am not sure about "Global Files Directory". Can I choose different folders for Baan and Infor LN? Let say: C:\baan\commonx64 and C:\Infor\ERPLN\commonx64.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th August 2017, 11:55
jclju1's Avatar
jclju1 jclju1 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 555
jclju1 is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IV, Baan 5.0c, SSA ERP LN 6.1 - DB: bisam, Oracle, Informix, Sql Server - OS: Unix (all), Windows
The second question is regarding service names and service display names, can I change names?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #3  
Old 4th August 2017, 14:10
lebowski's Avatar
lebowski lebowski is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 126
lebowski is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IV, BaanERP 5.0c, ERP LN - DB: Oracle, SQL - OS: Unix, Linux, Windows
Hello,

both BSEs will share one logic service and have their own shared memory services. The name of the shm service is derived from the name you give the environment during installation, let' say "Infor Shared Service Memory BaanIV" and "Infor Shared Memory Service LN". I am sure you can also change the name afterwards by de-/installing the service.

Regards,

lebowski
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th August 2017, 07:14
suneetsahadevan suneetsahadevan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
suneetsahadevan is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan 4 - DB: oracle - OS: windows
The installer will let you choose a directory.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th August 2017, 16:28
jclju1's Avatar
jclju1 jclju1 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 555
jclju1 is on a distinguished road
Baan: Baan IV, Baan 5.0c, SSA ERP LN 6.1 - DB: bisam, Oracle, Informix, Sql Server - OS: Unix (all), Windows
It is as lebowski wrote. I could choose directory when I installed Baan IV. After that I started Infor LN installation and could not change directory, field "Global Files Directory" was gray and it was not possible to change anything.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:01.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com