Baanboard.com

Go Back   Baanboard.com > Forum > Baan SIGs > Enhancements

User login

Frontpage Sponsor

Main

Poll
For ERP LN feature pack upgrade, what method of install are you using?
Installation Wizard into existing VRC
35%
Installation Wizard into new VRC
42%
Manual into existing VRC
3%
Manual into new VRC
19%
Total votes: 31

Baanboard at LinkedIn


Reference Content

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st November 2002, 09:29
ulrich.fuchs's Avatar
ulrich.fuchs ulrich.fuchs is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 514
ulrich.fuchs is on a distinguished road
Baan: IV, LN6.1 - DB: --- - OS: ---
Smile User defined aggregate field names for reports

Ok, this is definitely something that only Baan could provide, however, I'll go and post it here...


When defining an aggregate function in a report field, the report compiler internally assigns a variable for it (eg. "total..1"). So, you may do calculations in the report like value = total..1 / total..3, but this is generally not advisable, since the field names are likely to change if you introduce new report fields.

This could easily be overcome if one could enter a variable name that should be used for such an aggregate field. The report compiler would then use that particular variable name instead of a generated one.

With this litte enhancement e.g. percentage calculation on total fields would be much faster to implement than today.
__________________

Dipl. Ing. Ulrich Fuchs
- ERP consulting and software development -
Widumestraße 18 - 44787 Bochum - Germany
mail@ulrich-fuchs.de - www.ulrich-fuchs.de
http://all-in-for-erp.com (Blog zu Infor LN))
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st November 2002, 14:57
evertsen's Avatar
evertsen evertsen is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 308
evertsen is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc4 - DB: Oracle - OS: HP-UX
Couldn't you just write your own aggregate function in the report script? You would then have the control you are looking for.
__________________
Hope this helps,
Ev
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st November 2002, 15:15
ulrich.fuchs's Avatar
ulrich.fuchs ulrich.fuchs is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 514
ulrich.fuchs is on a distinguished road
Baan: IV, LN6.1 - DB: --- - OS: ---
Sure I could (and actually I have to do this right now, because there is no better way). But were talking about enhancements here, and it would be a great enhancement if I wouldn't have to code such a "standard" functionality from scratch each time I need it. And I need it a lot...
__________________

Dipl. Ing. Ulrich Fuchs
- ERP consulting and software development -
Widumestraße 18 - 44787 Bochum - Germany
mail@ulrich-fuchs.de - www.ulrich-fuchs.de
http://all-in-for-erp.com (Blog zu Infor LN))
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st November 2002, 15:27
evertsen's Avatar
evertsen evertsen is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 308
evertsen is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc4 - DB: Oracle - OS: HP-UX
Ok. I see your point. It doesn't seem like a big deal to me because I don't have to do it that often but if I did, I can see how it would get a little tedious.
__________________
Hope this helps,
Ev
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th May 2004, 08:41
günther günther is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ehingen, Germany
Posts: 570
günther is on a distinguished road
Baan: IVc4 - DB: Informix - OS: HP-UX
I've been programming lots of "high sophisticated" reports for our controlling department. The typical demand is exactly what ulrich likes.

I guess that *lots* of reports out there do their own total calculation, again and again.

If you are familiar with other reporting tools (e.g. Crystal) you know that this is really a pain.

Another examle:
Imagine a user wants to see the total on the first line, and then the details. How would you do that in Baan; 10 Lines of Code, 100 Lines?

Last edited by günther : 27th January 2005 at 16:02.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issues with mimic of database auths. sessions BaanTech Tools Administration & Installation 3 6th February 2017 07:40
Zoom Session for selection bklunder Tools Development 1 27th November 2003 07:25
identify user who edit a field in baan session therese Tools Development 4 19th July 2002 16:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:49.


©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com