Baanboard.com

Baanboard.com (http://www.baanboard.com/baanboard/index.php)
-   AFS/DDC/OLE: Function servers (http://www.baanboard.com/baanboard/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   Getting item description through Baan OLE automation (http://www.baanboard.com/baanboard/showthread.php?t=70381)

VishalMistry 30th August 2017 14:32

Getting item description through Baan OLE automation

Hi all,

I have little or no experience related to Baan OLE automation, but i want to explore it. I want to perform a simple task as shown below:

pass an item code using stpapi.put.field
search the item record using stpapi.find
get the value of item description using stpapi.get.field

For this I have written attached code in Excel VBA. I have debugged code in VBA and it gives an error message indicating invalid number of arguments whereas I am passing three argument (sessioncode,tablefield,getfield) to stpapi.get.field function.

getfield is excel vba variable.

BaanObj.ParseExecFunction "ottstpapihand", "stpapi.get.field(" & Chr(34) & SessionName & Chr(34) & "," & Chr(34) & "tiitm001.dsca" & Chr(34) & "," & getfield & ")"

Can anybody guide me how to write the above statement correctly in VBA so that I will get item description in getfield variable ?

Thanks,
Vishal

VishalMistry 30th August 2017 15:03

I could get rid of the error with below statement:

BaanObj.ParseExecFunction "ottstpapihand", "stpapi.get.field(" & Chr(34) & SessionName & Chr(34) & "," & Chr(34) & "tiitm001.dsca" & Chr(34) & ",itemdesc" & ")"

But still while displaying value of itemdesc, the value remains empty.

Any clue what could be wrong here ?

NOTE : I changed the name of variable from getfield to itemdesc

Vishal

mark_h 30th August 2017 20:20

I only have this that I tested a couple of times - notice the baan function call and how I had to use mid$ to get a description.

Code:

datarec$ = "datarec"
retVal2$ = "retval"
retval = Space(128)
getfield = Space(30)
Set BaanObj = CreateObject("Baan4.Application.701")