Baanboard.com

Baanboard.com (http://www.baanboard.com/baanboard/index.php)
-   Operating Systems & Databases (http://www.baanboard.com/baanboard/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Infor LN on Windows / SQL Performance on 2-tier vs 3-tier (http://www.baanboard.com/baanboard/showthread.php?t=69818)

tapzho 3rd March 2017 09:26

Infor LN on Windows / SQL Performance on 2-tier vs 3-tier
 
Dear All
One of our existing customer has grown in size to over 500 concurrent users. The current architecture is giving performance and scalability constraints. We are thinking of moving from 2-tier to 3 tier and replacing SQL Standard with SQL Enterprise and introduce database clustering. Who is run this architecture in production and what have been your experiences .. good or bad?

Please share

Ajesh 2nd May 2017 15:37

Well, i can only comment that, for More than 100 users using 3-Tier structure is usually recommended. I read in one of the compatibility related document.

mig28mx 2nd June 2017 01:15

expect up to 20% diminishing performance.
 
Hi,
I only comment that, when you pass from 2-tier to 3-tier configurations, you have to accept a diminishing performance. I don´t recall where it statement comes from, but I have experienced that, not in LN but in Syteline.

Regards.

vinceco252 2nd June 2017 19:01

The performance loss is usually justified (or at least rationalized) by the scalability gains. The performance loss is due to the server having to deal with the network overhead when in 3-tier. But you also then have the ability to spread the Baan/LN application across multiple servers.

It is also common to have the app installed on the database server, particularly to execute jobs, so that you don't have the performance loss in that instance.

Thanks,

Vince

toolswizard 9th August 2017 16:53

Over the last few years, we have moved our systems twice. One of the requirements was to have a expandable system as we grew. So I implemented the Application Server / Master Application Server setup. The Master Application has the DB on it also. It will support 2 application servers. We have 3 as we were setting up for disaster recover to a remote location. So there are a few manual steps to do like moving the remote user files to the App Servers.

Some lessons learned.

There are a few files off the MAS that you need to copy to the AS.
To avoid users needing to change their passwords in the remote user files, we have a common user and secret password to communicate between the AS and the MAS
Wrappers like qkey does not work across the AS and MAS. Bic_info works for the first level object, but fails on trying to go to a lower level VRC directory.
CRDD will reload shared memory on the MAS, but has to be manually reloaded on the AS.
Be sure that you can run with 1 less AS than configured. Otherwise if 1 goes down the others can take over.
Load balancing is not supported. The blogind gets pinged and the log file grows. There is a switch and variable to control the roll over of the log.
We do let out job manager load balance between the AS's.
All admin functions are done on the MAS.
LN Studio connects to the MAS for our development environment. It has a few issues with connecting to the AS. This is currently being looked at by Infor Development.

mig28mx 9th August 2017 19:03

Thank for the Info.
 
Hi toolswizard,
Thank you for sharing this information!
I have a question: how do you manage the licences? Do you have a separate code or each AS?
Regards.

toolswizard 10th August 2017 23:44

You just have to add them to SLM. You may have to increase the number of servers per license code. We have 3 environments, each have their own SLM cluster, and their own limits per Infor's requirements.

Dinushi Senanay 2nd October 2017 15:50

Hi,
We have setup infor erp 10.5 in VM environment , but due to the issue in DB, we have moved to separate server , now we are getting slowness issue. all the ERP session getting slow. can any one give advice for this?

Thanks in advance
Dinushi

Nagarjuna 7th December 2017 09:14

Hi Team,

Can you please suggest if AS is mandatory along with MAS for LN installation.

Thank you
Nag

vinceco252 7th December 2017 15:34

It is not mandatory. Additional application servers can be put in place for scalability.

Nagarjuna 8th December 2017 07:06

Hi Dinushi, Can you please share the architecture for LN 10.5 installation
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dinushi Senanay (Post 205566)
Hi,
We have setup infor erp 10.5 in VM environment , but due to the issue in DB, we have moved to separate server , now we are getting slowness issue. all the ERP session getting slow. can any one give advice for this?

Thanks in advance
Dinushi

Hi Dinushi,

Thank you, Am working on Infor Ln 10.5 Installation, can you please help me with hardware and software requirements and also is AS mandatory or can instation be done on MAS alone?

Thank you
Nag

Nagarjuna 8th December 2017 07:08

Installation
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by vinceco252 (Post 206643)
It is not mandatory. Additional application servers can be put in place for scalability.

Thank you so much for quick reply, can you please share the installation information, if you have any. Mail id: nagarjunak@boaweb.com or 9666774010.

Thank you so much

kiransi_me 9th December 2017 16:12

you might need to check the parameters in DB and follow best practises

Nagarjuna 13th December 2017 07:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by vinceco252 (Post 206643)
It is not mandatory. Additional application servers can be put in place for scalability.

HI Sir,

Thank you so much, after installing Infor web UI, i tried setting parameters as mentioned in document but for Baanlogin its failing, can you suggest what uid and password should be provided here? i think its expecting LN user id and password, can you suggest on this please.

Thank you
Nag


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:45.


vB.Sponsors
©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com