Baanboard.com

Baanboard.com (http://www.baanboard.com/baanboard/index.php)
-   Tools Administration & Installation (http://www.baanboard.com/baanboard/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Job status changing to Free after executed by Job Daemon (http://www.baanboard.com/baanboard/showthread.php?t=60884)

VishalMistry 21st July 2011 08:15

Job status changing to Free after executed by Job Daemon
 
Hi all,

I am facing a strange problem related to job which is executed by job daemon. What happens is Job Daemon executed the job once and the status of job changes from InQue to Free. I have done following:

1.created a calendra and spefied time interval as 10:15, 10:30 and 10:45 for specific date
2.created a job and attached the calender and specified the job as periodical
3.added the session to job
4.changed job status to InQue

then the job daemon executed the job at 10:15 am but then status of job changed to Free and damon did not execute the job at 10:30.

Anybody faced similar issue. Pl guide.

Vishal

Hitesh Shah 21st July 2011 18:33

job waiting after execution
 
In B4 , there is a parameter job waiting after execution . Similar parameter could be in ur setup . Please check and set it right .

VishalMistry 22nd July 2011 08:22

Problem resolved
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Hitesh Shah (Post 171828)
In B4 , there is a parameter job waiting after execution . Similar parameter could be in ur setup . Please check and set it right .

I found similar parameter in Job which I was unaware of. It is "Suspend Job untill next execution".

After enabling this, now the job remains in Que and does not become free after first execution.

Thanks a lot.

Vishal

nmolinaa 3rd August 2011 15:53

Guys, you should not be using job daemon. Job daemon is buggy and hard to implement in a multi-company environment which, I think most environments are multi-company.

I would suggest that you look at implementing jobs via the OS native jobs scheduling mechanism, e.g., Task Scheduler for windows, CRON for UNIX.

Also, do you guys know how annoying it was on windows servers to schedule jobs and see the windows constantly pop up? In recent porting sets Infor development enabled a way to start jobs using a parameter -server so in the startjob script there will be a line now that is

ntbshell -server ttaad5203m000

Way cooler than starting the .bwc profiles. It makes for a nicer administration of the server without fearing cancelling a crucial job in a live system as all jobs run silently this way.

Only disadvantages are, apparently you cannot use multi-bshell jobs with this method. But there are workarounds for that like setting those jobs up in a different server or PC even using the old method.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Nestor.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:58.


vB.Sponsors
©2001-2017 - Baanboard.com - Baanforums.com